LSU 13th, Louisiana-Lafayette 23rd in preseason USA Today coaches poll

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Ed Orgeron
LSU Tigers play against Mississippi St. Bulldogs during a game in Tiger Stadium in Baton Rouge, Louisiana on September 26, 2020. (Photo by: Chris Parent / LSU Athletics)

A regular occurrence for LSU and a first for UL Lafayette highlight the Tuesday release of the Preseason USA Today/Amway Coaches Poll.

Coming off of a disappointing 5-5 campaign, LSU is ranked 13th by the coaches entering 2021.

Four SEC schools are raked ahead of the Tigers including No. 1 Alabama, the defending national champions who garnered 62 of the available 65 first-place votes. Oklahoma, set to open their season at Tulane, earned the other two top votes.

The Ragin’ Cajuns will enter the 2021 season ranked No. 23, the first time in program history that the team has been ranked in a major preseason poll.

ULL is the highest ranked Sun Belt Conference school (just ahead of Coastal Carolina at No. 24) and the second-highest ranked Group of 5 program behind only No. 10 Cincinnati.

The Ragin’ Cajuns finished 2020 No. 16 in the nation with a 10-1 record.

The USA TODAY Sports AFCA football coaches poll is conducted weekly throughout the regular season using a panel of 65 head coaches at Football Bowl Subdivision schools. The panel is chosen by random draw, conference by conference plus independents, from a pool of coaches who have indicated to the American Football Coaches Association their willingness to participate. Each coach submits a Top 25 with a first-place vote worth 25 points, second place 24, and so on down to one point for 25th.

1. Alabama 1621 (63 first place votes)
2. Clemson 1508
3. Oklahoma 1481 (2)
4. Ohio State 1435
5. Georgia 1386
6. Texas A&M 1286
7. Notre Dame 1139
8. Iowa State 1131
9. North Carolina 999
10. Cincinnati 979
11. Florida 870
12. Oregon 842
13. LSU 664
14. USC 655
15. Wisconsin 654
16. Miami 575
17. Indiana 573
18. Iowa 554
19. Texas 427
20. Penn State 422
21. Washington 404
22. Oklahoma State 216
23. UL Lafayette 153
24. Coastal Carolina 150
25. Ole Miss 149

OTHER RECEIVING VOTES: Utah 145; Northwestern 120; Arizona State 90; Auburn 84; Liberty 68; Brigham Young 53; Texas Christian 48; Michigan 30; Central Florida 29; NC State 27; Boise State 27; Kentucky 20; San Jose State 18; Army 13; Virginia Tech 9; Missouri 8; UCLA 7; Tulsa 6; Pittsburgh 6; Boston College 6; Houston 5; Ball State 5; West Virginia 4; Southern Methodist 4; Appalachian State 4; UAB 3; Arkansas 3; Nevada 2; Mississippi State 2; Air Force 2; Stanford 1; Marshall 1; Florida State 1; California 1.

The USA TODAY Sports AFCA Board of Coaches is made up of 65 head coaches at Football Bowl Subdivision schools. All are members of the American Football Coaches Association. The board for the 2021 season: Tom Allen, Indiana; Blake Anderson, Utah State; DinoBabers, Syracuse; Walt Bell, Massachusetts; Mike Bloomgren, Rice; Craig Bohl, Wyoming; Neal Brown, West Virginia; Troy Calhoun, Air Force; Matt Campbell, Iowa State; Jason Candle, Toledo; Jamey Chadwell, Coastal Carolina; Paul Chryst, Wisconsin; Geoff Collins, Georgia Tech; David Cutcliffe, Duke; Butch Davis, Florida International; Manny Diaz, Miami (Florida); Dave Doeren, North Carolina State; Karl Dorrell, Colorado; Eliah Drinkwitz, Missouri; Sonny Dykes, Southern Methodist; Luke Fickell, Cincinnati; Jedd Fisch, Arizona; Pat Fitzgerald, Northwestern; James Franklin, Penn State; Willie Fritz, Tulane; Danny Gonzales, New Mexico; Todd Graham, Hawaii; Mike Gundy, Oklahoma State; Will Hall, Southern Mississippi; Thomas Hammock, Northern Illinois; Bryan Harsin, Auburn; Clay Helton, Southern California; Tyson Helton, Western Kentucky; Brady Hoke, San Diego State; Skip Holtz, Louisiana Tech; Butch Jones, Arkansas State; Brian Kelly, Notre Dame; Jimmy Lake, Washington; Clark Lea, Vanderbilt; Tim Lester, Western Michigan; Sean Lewis, Kent State; Maurice Linguist, Buffalo; Seth Littrell, North Texas; Mike Locksley, Maryland; Chad Lunsford, Georgia Southern; Gus Malzahn, Central Florida; Chuck Martin, Miami (Ohio); Doug Martin, New Mexico State; Phillip Montgomery, Tulsa; Dan Mullen, Florida; Billy Napier, Louisiana-Lafayette; Pat Narduzzi, Pittsburgh; Ken Niumatalolo, Navy; Gary Patterson, TCU; Sam Pittman, Arkansas; NIck Rolovich, Washington State; Nick Saban, Alabama; Steve Sarkisian, Texas; Scott Satterfield, Louisville; Greg Schiano, Rutgers; Kirby Smart, Georgia; Jake Spavital, Texas State; Rick Stockstill, Middle Tennessee; Mel Tucker, Michigan State; Kyle Whittingham, Utah.

  • < PREV Louisiana Tech guard Silvia Nativi leading Team Italy at FIBA World Cup
  • NEXT > Kevin Hubbs of Denham Springs qualifies for US Senior Amateur