Louisiana Tech senior Joshua Mote nominated for 2022 Wuerffel Trophy

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Joshua Mote

RUSTON, La. – Louisiana Tech redshirt senior offensive lineman Joshua Mote was one of 109 FBS college football players nominated for the 2022 Wuerffel Trophy, the organization announced Thursday.

The Wuerffel Trophy is known as “College Football’s Premier Award for Community Service.”

Named after 1996 Heisman Trophy winning quarterback from the University of Florida, Danny Wuerffel, the Wuerffel Trophy is presented in February annually in Fort Walton Beach, Florida. The trophy exists to honor college football players who serve others, celebrate their positive impact on society and inspire greater service worldwide.

Mote’s community service projects have included Willis-Knighton, Night to Shine, Buddy Ball, Special Olympics, Big Event and the voting registration drive.

Mote is the Bulldogs active career leader in starts (32) and was an All-Conference USA honorable mention selection in both 2020 and 2021. Mote has helped anchor an offensive line that has played a large role in the Bulldogs passing offense which ranks 23rd nationally at 290.4 yards a contest.

The Wuerffel Trophy is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA), which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast more than 800 recipients, dating back to 1935.

Louisiana Tech continues its 2022 season at FIU tonight at 7 p.m. in front of a national audience on CBS Sports Network.

Fans can purchase single game tickets online at LATechSports.com/tickets or by calling the LA Tech Ticket Office at (318) 257-3631.

For all the latest in Bulldog Football, follow them on Twitter (@LATechFB), Instagram (@LATechFB) and Facebook (LATechFootball) or visit the official website at LATechSports.com.

  • < PREV Guessing the trade marker for Saints, other NFL teams ahead of deadline
  • NEXT > UNO, UIW take team titles at Southland Conference Cross Country Championships