Lisa Mattingly named Sun Belt Conference Women’s Basketball Coordinator of Officials

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

NEW ORLEANS – Lisa Mattingly, a 33-year veteran of basketball officiating, has been named Coordinator of Women’s Basketball Officials for the Sun Belt, Southeastern, Ohio Valley, Southwestern Athletic and Southland conferences.

“I want to thank our Commissioners and their staffs for this tremendous opportunity,” said Mattingly. “I look forward to working with all our administrators, coaches, student-athletes and officials to build on the great foundation that Sally Bell and her staff engineered. Additionally, I want to thank all the strong leaders who made themselves available to me. There is no price tag high enough for their generosity to me and on my behalf. Our game has been so generous to me, I’m anxious to give something back.”

A 1982 graduate of Sue Bennett College, Mattingly has served as a women’s basketball official in the SEC since 1995 and has also officiated in the ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Big East, Conference USA, OVC, Missouri Valley, MAC and Horizon League. She has officiated an average of more than 85 games per year while serving as crew chief in 90 percent of those contests.

She has been selected to officiate in numerous conference tournaments, including the SEC, ACC, Big Ten, Big 12, Big East, Conference USA, OVC and Missouri Valley. She has worked 10 Big Ten conference tournament championship games, eight SEC tournament title contests and numerous other conference tournament final games.

Mattingly was first selected to officiate in an NCAA Tournament in 1996 and since that time has worked 21 NCAA Regional Tournaments and 18 Final Fours including 10 championship games.

In addition to her on-court achievements, Mattingly served as liaison for basketball officials to the NCAA Rules Committee from 2003-05.

Mattingly has also made her mark in professional basketball, having been selected to officiate in the inaugural season of the WNBA in 1997. She officiated the WNBA League Championship Series from 2000-07, including the league finals from 2002-06. She was also selected to officiate the WNBA All-Star Game in 2000 and 2006.

She first officiated on the collegiate level in the Kentucky Intercollegiate Athletic Conference from 1986-93, making her Division I debut with the Ohio Valley Conference in 1990.

About the Sun Belt Conference
Entering the second decade of the new millennium, the Sun Belt Conference continues to challenge itself, and its competitors, in all aspects of intercollegiate athletics. Not content with being simply the youngest football conference in the Football Bowl Subdivision, the conference has shown that it can rise each and every season that comes along. And since the birth of the league as a FBS member in 2001, the evidence is clear that the conference is indeed rising above competitors and peer conferences.
The Sun Belt finished second in bowl winning percentage among all 10 FBS conferences the last two seasons and reaching back to the 2014 season, no conference has a better total bowl winning percentage (.611) than the Sun Belt. All that success comes as the 2018 season will see the conference split into divisions (East/West) for the first time and stage its first-ever championship game at the end of the regular season on December 1, 2018.
Appalachian State, Arkansas State, Coastal Carolina, Georgia Southern, Georgia State, Louisiana, ULM, South Alabama, Texas State and Troy give the league 10 football members. Little Rock and UTA compete as Sun Belt members in sports other than football.

  • < PREV Rookies set to make impacts in the NFL
  • NEXT > Mark Duper to enter Miami Dolphins' Walk of Fame