New LHSAA designations have more select than nonselect schools

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
LHSAA Prep Classic football championships
(Photo: Parker Waters)

Call it turning the membership upside down.

Since the split of public and private schools occurred in 2013, the nonselect schools have had an enormous advantage in numbers over select schools. There were 296 nonselect schools to just 109 select schools.

With the Executive Committee vote of 16-5 last week, that dynamic has changed radically.

Based on information sent out by the LHSAA Monday evening, the script has flipped.

The membership, based on the reconfiguration via a new definition of select schools, now has 211 select schools and 194 nonselect schools.

The change includes all Jefferson Parish public schools being placed in the select category, along with all Orleans Parish public schools.

Many other statewide powers find themselves now in the select category, including Acadiana, Carencro, Edna Karr, Madison Prep, Oak Grove and Warren Easton, among others.

All Northshore and River Parish public schools remain in the nonselect category.

The new designations would take effect for the upcoming 2022-23 school year.

Those schools who feel they have been placed incorrectly in either category have until June 21 to submit their objection/appeal in writing to the LHSAA office.

Under the new scenario, districts would remain the same.

Once the new proposal is formed and approved, adjustments to playoffs in all sports will then be made.

The move is viewed by some as an attempt to get the organization members to consider reuniting as a whole while it is viewed by others as an attempt to force schools to return to playing championships in the same venues, which will be enacted.

  • < PREV LSU legend Bradie James on 2023 College Football Hall of Fame ballot
  • NEXT > Southern Miss edges LSU to win Hattiesburg Regional

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >