John Curtis sophomore Sierra Sacco earns top honor on LSWA Class 5A All-State teams

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Written for the LSWA
Pitcher Cameron Meeks of Sam Houston and outfielder Sierra Sacco of John Curtis claimed top honors on the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 5A All-State baseball and softball teams.

Meeks, a McNeese signee, was 10-0 with a 0.69 earned run average and 78 strikeouts in 61 innings pitched for the Class 5A runner-up Broncos. He also hit .405 with 15 doubles, four triples, five home runs and 51 runs batted in.

Sacco led the Patriots to a Division I runner-up finish was a .670 batting average, 67 stolen bases in 68 attempts and 56 runs scored. The sophomore also was one of the top defensive outfielders in the metro New Orleans area.

The coaches who won Class 5A titles were selected as the Coach of the Year winners by a panel of sportswriters from across the state. Glenn Cecchini of Barbe coached his team to wins in 27 of its last 28 baseball games, including a title-game win over Lake Charles area rival Sam Houston.

St. Amant High’s Amy Pitre led her school to its first LHSAA title since 2006. The Gators finished 26-2 with a lineup that included seven first-year starters.

Pos. player school class stats
P Jack Walker Barbe So. 9-1
P Cameron Meeks Sam Houston Sr. 10-0
P Landon Foster Ruston Sr. 11-0
P Dax Ford John Curtis Sr. 1.75
C Hayden Travinski Airline Sr. .434
IF Carson Jones West Monroe Sr. .326
IF Blake Shapen Evangel Jr. .420
IF Cade Doughty Denham Springs Sr. .495
IF Cole Romero Acadiana Sr. .512
OF Braden Duhon Sam Houston Sr. .485
OF Nick Vitale St. Paul’s Sr. .416
OF Keilon Brown Zachary Jr. .395
UT Brennan Stuprich Brother Martin Jr. .438
UT Addison Ainsworth Catholic So. .371
UT Eric Brown Parkway Sr. .523
UT Alex Milazzo Zachary Sr. .432
UT Brody Drost Barbe Jr. 8-0


Honorable mention
Parker Madden, Ruston; Jontavious Gray, Ruston; Tom Biggs, West Monroe; DaDa Jones, Ouachita; Brennen Berggren, Jesuit; Brady Faust, Brother Martin; Ron Franklin, Rummel; Collin Guggenheim, John Curtis; Mike Mims, St. Augustine; Chandler Welch, Holy Cross; Jeremy Martin, Northshore; Carson Lore, Northshore; Peyton Stovall, Haughton; Jayden Williams, Zachary, Cole Lovell, Terrebonne; Braxston Lovell, Terrebonne; Peyton LeBouef, H.L. Bourgeois; Randon Cahanin, Lafayette; Chris Battaglia, Lafayette; TJ Thomas, Destrehan; Lane Little, West Monroe; Tyler Pope, Alexandria; Cy Fontenot, Alexandria; Jackson Dennies, Rummel; Hayden Knotts, Parkway; Christion Rayner, Parkway; Will Tynes, Airline; Tanner Hall, Zachary; Silas Ardoin, Sam Houston; Matt Barber, Alexandria; Caleb Reese, Parkway; Kyle Debarge, Barbe; Kasten Furr, Ruston; Mason Zambo, Catholic; Brayden Caskey, Dutchtown; Derrald Moore, Alexandria; William Duncan, St. Paul’s; Charlie Barham, Byrd; Amani Larry, Parkway; Zach Ordeneaux, Catholic; Davis Meche, Barbe; Tre’ Morgan, Brother Martin; Brayden Jobert, Northshore; Jacob Scherer, St. Paul’s; Will Hellmers, Jesuit; Maverick McClure, Zachary; Sam Kenerson, Central; Beau Kirsch, Acadiana; Garrett Felix, Acadiana.

Pos. player school class stats
P Raelin Chaffin Airline Fr. 11-3
P Montana Young Northshore Jr. 18-4
P Tyler Oubre Destrehan So. 1.58
P Alyssa Romano St. Amant Jr. 26-2
C Abby Allen Ouachita Parish Jr. .557
IF Maddie Hayden West Monroe So. .488
IF Cameron Hall Alexandria Jr. .433
IF Jil Poullard Sam Houston Sr. .522
IF Julia Kramer St. Amant So. .522
OF Kiley DeHart Barbe So. .514
OF Sierra Sacco John Curtis So. .670
OF Cam Goodman John Curtis Sr. .506
UT Jordyn Manning Ouachita Sr. .452
UT Halie Pappion Barbe Fr. 21-6
UT Elise Simon Domincan So. 14-1
UT Rayne Minor Denham Springs Sr. .623
UT Bayleigh Baudoin Hahnville Sr. .465


Honorable mention
Harlie Robinson, Ruston; Jaislyn Meredino, Alexandria; Megan McCartney, Dominican;
Dee Dee West, Northshore; Gia Zeringue, Destrehan; Savannah Hetler, Mandeville; Kiera Evans, H.L. Bourgeois; McKenzie Champagne, Central Lafourche; Paige Allemand, Thibodaux; Abbi Massey, Sulphur; Lauris Broussard, Comeaux; Aleksis Duplechain, Acadiana; Alexis Garoutte, Pineville; Cendall Barton, Alexandria; Grace O’Berry, Mandeville; Natalie Parker, Denham Springs; Kamryn Eaton, West Monroe; Adelle Chapman, Pineville; Kimber Hamilton, Sam Houston; Madelyn Fletcher, Ouachita Parish; Tailor Lenard, Ouachita Parish; Kacee Mertens, Pineville; Sarah Wallace, Pineville; Jordan Lafosse, Sam Houston; Ashley Ortiz, Mt. Carmel; Ashley Pearson, West Monroe; Georia Manzer, Alexandria; Kathryn Wallace, Hahnville; Sophia Nuzzolillo, Ponchatoula; Ka’le Guillory, Barbe; Jenny Griggers, Sam Houston.

  • < PREV Bye-bye La La Land: Meet the new Pelicans
  • NEXT > 'Cakes down 'Topes to make it three in a row