John Curtis slugger Cade Beloso named 2018 Louisiana Mr. Baseball

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Cade Beloso John Curtis
Cade Beloso is the first John Curtis player to be named Gatorade Louisiana baseball player of the year and Louisiana Farm Bureau/LSWA Mr. Baseball.

By Jim Derry
Special to the LSWA

In the longstanding history of John Curtis, where the school’s trophy case could fill up an entire gymnasium, they have had nine state championships in baseball but never a player of the year.
Until now.

Senior first baseman Cade Beloso raked in another award on his way to LSU, as the Patriots slugger is named the 2018 Louisiana Farm Bureau/LSWA Mr. Baseball by a panel of the Louisiana Sports Writers Association.

It was the first time since 2010 a New Orleans-area player has won the award and second in the 22-year history. It’s the first time a player from the Catholic League has won it.

Named the state’s Player of the Year by Gatorade a couple of weeks ago and recently winning back-to-back All-Metro Player of the Year honors by both | The Times-Picayune and The New Orleans Advocate, Beloso hit .489 with a slugging percentage of 1.080 and an OPS of 1.696.

In 88 at-bats, he hit 13 homers, seven doubles and three triples with 37 RBIs.

He was walked 22 times and struck out just seven times in 121 plate appearances. The Catholic League MVP scored 36 runs and was plunked nine times. For good measure, he also pitched 14 innings, was 2-1 with two saves and a 3.00 ERA with 14 strikeouts.

In the Division I state semifinals against Holy Cross, the Tigers intentionally walked him his first two times at-bat, including once to lead off an inning. (They finally gave up that strategy in an 8-0 loss.) In the state title game, he went a ho-hum 2-for-3 and stole a base, as the Patriots defeated St. Paul’s, 2-1, to win their second consecutive Division I championship.

Beloso also was a member of the National Honor Society and finished high school with a 3.84 GPA.

La. Farm Bureau Insurance/LSWA Mr. Baseball winners
1996: Joe Lawrence, Barbe
1997: Chucky Son, Parkview Baptist
1998: Aaron Lowe, Parkway
1999: Nick Bourgeois, Barbe
2000: Austin Nagle, Barbe
2001: Austin Nagle, Barbe/Jonathan Zeringue, E.D. White
2002: Greg Smith, Alexandria
2003: Matt Greenwich, Parkview Baptist
2004: Ben Soignier, West Monroe
2005: Beau Jones, Destrehan
2006: Forrest Moore, Parkview Baptist
2007: Carmen Angelini, Barbe
2008: Zack Von Rosenberg, Zachary
2009: Zack Von Rosenberg, Zachary
2010: Bryan Picou, Northlake Christian
2011: Aaron Nola, Catholic-BR
2012: Gavin Cecchini, Barbe
2013: Jared Poché, Lutcher
2014: Chase Vallot, St. Thomas More
2015: Kale Breaux, Sulphur
2016: Nick Webre, Teurlings Catholic
2017: Jacob Pearson, West Monroe
2018: Cade Beloso, John Curtis

  • < PREV Texas Rangers sign Tulane baseball recruit Destin Dotson
  • NEXT > Guerra dominant in save as 'Cakes hold off Sacramento