Holden nets two goals as Parkview Baptist beats Hannan for state girls soccer title

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

HAMMOND – It was the first matchup between the top two seeded teams in a state championship match this year.

In the end, second-seeded Parkview Baptist emerged victorious Thursday evening, edging top seed Archbishop Hannan 2-1 at Strawberry Stadium.

Parkview Baptist (22-5) took a 1-0 lead midway through the first half as Chelsea Holden scored off a long pass around the top of the penalty box.

The Hawks (15-5-4) got the equalizer on a goal that did not look like a goal initially.

Freshman Kaitlyn Brady took a free kick from about 40 yards out. Eagles freshman keeper Clair David got her hands on the rocket from Brady but by the time she secured the ball, the referee on the spot ruled that the ball crossed the goal line to tie the match 1-1 by halftime.

Both teams came out playing physically in the second half.

The eleventh minute proved to be the vital moment in the game.

Parkview Baptist put pressure on Hannan, hitting the top post. The ball bobbled around and Holden found herself in the right place at the right time and put the ball in for her second goal and for what proved to be the game-winning goal.

The Eagles made the game stand up the rest of the way for the title.

“When Clelsea scores, we always win,” Parkview Baptist coach Raphael Nunes said. .

80% percent of the time in high school, the team that scores the third goal wins the game. For Parkview Baptist, Holden’s two goals produced the first-ever state championship in the sport in school history.

  • < PREV LSU ranked No. 5 overall by NCAA Women's Basketball Selection Committee
  • NEXT > LSU wins at Vanderbilt to clinch second spot in SEC

Alan DeRitter

Soccer Analyst/Coach

2013 – Present…Head Soccer Coach, De La Salle High School 2007 – 2011…Head Soccer Coach, Archbishop Shaw High School 2004 – Present…Director of Coaching for Soccer Innovations of America 2006…Asst. Head Coach, St. Martin’s Girls Team 2006…ODP Louisiana Staff Coach 1986-2005…Brother Martin High School; Head coach 1986; 1994 -2004 State Champions 2000 2000 District 10 Div. I Coach of the…

Read more >