GMB Racing’s Lone Sailor draws post 8 for Kentucky Derby

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Lone Sailor

Lone Sailor, the third Kentucky Derby starter for the Benson family’s GMB Racing in the last three years, drew post position No. 8 Tuesday for the 144th edition of the first leg of the Triple Crown.

Lone Sailor earned his spot in Louisville by finishing second to Noble Indy in the Louisiana Derby in his last start on March 24 – one day after stable patriarch Tom Benson was laid to rest.

Since the Louisiana Derby, Lone Sailor has had three workouts over the Churchill Downs oval, including a bullet :57.60 for five furlongs on April 19.

Lone Sailor’s appearance in the Kentucky Derby will mark the midpoint of a busy weekend for Gayle Benson, as the Pelicans play host to the Golden State Warriors in Games 3 and 4 of the Western Conference semifinals on Friday night and Sunday afternoon, respectively, at Smoothie King Center.

The Tom Amoss trainee is one of the four 50-1 longshots in the field, according to the morning line set by Churchill Downs linemaker Mike Battaglia. James Graham will ride Lone Sailor.

Undefeated Justify is the 3-1 morning line favorite and will start alongside Lone Sailor in post No. 7.

Three Louisiana-born jockeys have drawn assignments in the race – Robby Albarado aboard Free Drop Billy, who drew post No. 2; Corey Lanerie on Promises Fulfilled, who breaks from the third post position, and Kent Desormeaux on My Boy Jack in post No. 10. My Boy Jack is trained by Desormeaux’s brother Keith.

Post time for the Kentucky Derby is 5:50 p.m. CDT Saturday. NBC will televise the race.

The full post position rundown for the 144th Kentucky Derby, with trainers, jockeys and morning line odds:

1Firenze FireJason ServisPaco Lopez50-1
2Free Drop BillyDale RomansRobby Albarado30-1
3Promises FulfilledDale RomansCorey Lanerie30-1
4FlameawayMark CasseJose Lezcano30-1
5AudibleTodd PletcherJavier Castellano8-1
6Good MagicChad BrownJose Ortiz12-1
7JustifyBob BaffertMike Smith3-1
8Lone SailorTom AmossJames Graham50-1
9HofburgBill MottIrad Ortiz Jr.20-1
10My Boy JackKeith DesormeauxKent Desormeaux30-1
11Bolt d’OroMick RuisVictor Espinoza8-1
12EnticedKiaran McLaughlinJunior Alvarado30-1
13BravazoD. Wayne LukasLuis Contreras50-1
14MendelssohnAidan O’BrienRyan Moore5-1
15Instilled RegardJerry HollendorferDrayden Van Dyke50-1
16Magnum MoonTodd PletcherLuis Saez6-1
17SolominiBob BaffertFlavien Prat30-1
18Vino RossoTodd PletcherJohn Velazquez12-1
19Noble IndyTodd PletcherFlorent Geroux30-1
20CombatantSteve AsmussenRicardo Santana Jr.50-1
AEBlended CitizenDoug O’NeillKyle Frey50-1
  • < PREV New Orleans area teams shut out of non-select state baseball tournament in Sulphur
  • NEXT > Miley activated, Lion alums settling in on 2018 pro season
Lenny Vangilder

Lenny Vangilder


Lenny has been involved in college athletics since the early 1980s, when he began working Tulane University sporting events while still attending Archbishop Rummel High School. He continued that relationship as a student at Loyola University, where he graduated in 1987. For the next 11 years, Vangilder worked in the sports information offices at Southwestern Louisiana (now UL-Lafayette) and Tulane;…

Read more >