Girard-based Jefferson Parish team wins again in Dixie Youth World Series

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Perhaps the fourth time is the charm.

Another team from Jefferson Parish is positioned to win a national championship.

A squad based at Girard Playground under the director of Derek DeLatte has won its first two games in the Dixie Youth World Series in Lumberton, North Carolina.

First, Jefferson Parish pummeled Virginia 16-1 Saturday before downing Pembroke, North Carolina 7-4 Sunday night before a capacity crowd.

The game was tight throughout, tied 4-4 in the bottom of the fifth when the Jefferson Parish team scored what proved to be the winning runs on a wild pitch, allowing a pair of runs to score. Girard tacked on an insurance run to account for the final margin.

Christian Gadola and Brennan Chaix each had a pair of hits to pace Girard. Cooper Couret drove in a run as well.

Jace DeLatte started for Jefferson Parish, allowing two earned runs on six hits in four and a third innings. DeLatte struck out nine and walked just one. Austen Guedry picked up the win, retiring all five batters he faced in dominant fashion with four strikeouts.

Now 2-0 in the tournament, the Vikings play the Alabama state champion at 6 p.m. this evening.

While it is the fourth World Series appearance in 15 years under DeLatte, Jefferson Parish has not won the Dixie Youth World Series since 1961.

Jefferson Parish reached the national championship game in 2007 with a team featuring former Brother Martin and LSU star Greg Deichmann, who reached the majors with the Chicago Cubss.

You can watch the game live via Facebook on HPSN, the HeaPitts Sports Network.

  • < PREV Tennis star Gavriella Smith selected as July New Orleans Athlete of the Month
  • NEXT > Curtis Johnson to speak Wednesday at Life Resources Bottom Line Luncheon

Ken Trahan


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >