Fourcade named to Watch List for CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

CHARLESTON, S.C. – Nicholls State University quarterback Chase Fourcade, one of the nation’s leaders in passing efficiency, was named to the 2018 midseason watch list for the CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy, the College Football Performance Awards announced this week.

Fourcade, a native of Metairie, Louisiana, ended the regular season ranked 12th in the FCS in efficiency (148.5) and 13th in points responsible for (15.3). In 11 games, he has thrown 19 touchdowns and only six interceptions, and 2,447 yards at 60.5 completion percentage. A dual-threat quarterback, Fourcade has totaled 488 yards rushing at a 4.8 yard-per-carry average, and his nine rushing touchdowns ranks 34th in the nation.

The 2018 CFPA FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy is a 22-inch K-9 optic crystal tower with eight-inch crystal football on top. All FCS players are eligible for the award. The award winner will be announced January 9, 2019.

Nicholls will be hosting an opening round FCS playoff game for the second straight season as the Colonels take on Pioneer Football League champion San Diego on Saturday, Nov. 24 at 3 p.m. at Manning Field at John L. Guidry Stadium.

Tickets are available online now by clicking here.

2018 CFPA Midseason FCS National Performer of the Year Trophy Watch List

Daniel Smith (QB), Campbell

James Holland Jr. (RB), Colgate

Derek Kyler (QB), Dartmouth

Pat Kehoe (QB), Delaware

Sam McPherson (RB), Eastern Washington

Quay Holmes (RB), East Tennessee State

Tanner Gueller (QB), Idaho State

Brady Davis (QB), Illinois State

James Robinson (RB), Illinois State

Ra’Quanne Dickens (RB), UIW

Ryan Boyle (QB), Indiana State

Zerrick Cooper (QB), Jacksonville State

Josh Pearson (WR), Jacksonville State

Ben DiNucci (QB), James Madison

Chandler Burks (QB), Kennesaw State

Chris Ferguson (QB), Maine

Dalton Sneed (QB), Montana

Chase Fourcade (QB), Nicholls

Easton Stick (QB), North Dakota State

Eli Dunne (QB), Northern Iowa

John Lovett (QB), Princeton

Devlin Hodges (QB), Samford

Anthony Lawrence (QB), San Diego

Austin Simmons (QB), South Dakota

Taryn Christion (QB), South Dakota State

Daniel Santacaterina (QB), Southeast Missouri State

Joe Carbone (QB), Stony Brook

Tom Flacco (QB), Towson

Jake Maier (QB), UC Davis

Josh Davis (RB), Weber State

Sean McGuire (QB), Western Illinois

Andre Stoddard (RB), Wofford

  • < PREV Ahmani Martin named Southland Defensive Player of the Week
  • NEXT > Bayou Classic: Big holiday weekend crowd expected for Grambling-Southern battle for SWAC West title