Florida State’s Jordan Travis named Manning Award Quarterback of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Jordan Travis

NEW ORLEANS – Jordan Travis, a sophomore at Florida State University, has been selected as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week. He earns the honor over seven other Manning Award Stars of the Week in the Allstate Sugar Bowl’s Facebook contest.

Facebook Voting Results

Travis completed 13-of-18 passes for 192 yards and two touchdowns and rushed for 90 yards and a score to lead the Seminoles back from a 28-day layoff with a 56-35 ACC victory over Duke. His 90 rushing yards pushed him to a season total of 559, an FSU record by a quarterback, and his three scores matched his career best. He is the only player in FSU history with four straight games with at least one rushing touchdown and one passing touchdown.

The West Palm Beach, Fla., native has started six games for FSU in 2020, leading the Noles to over 405 yards of offense four times and he has scored a rushing TD in his sixth straight game, extending his school record for a QB. He became FSU’s single-season rushing leader for a QB, passing Charlie Ward’s 504 yards in 1992.

The Seminoles will head to face the Demon Deacons in an ACC matchup on Saturday at 11 a.m. CT.  The ACC Network will televise the contest.

The second and third-place finishers in this week’s Facebook voting were Isaiah Chavez from New Mexico and Coastal Carolina’s Grayson McCall. Chavez, a freshman walk-on making his first career start, completed 14-of-18 passes for 196 yards and one touchdown leading the Lobos to a 49-39 MW victory over Fresno State to snap a seven-game losing streak to the Bulldogs. He also rushed for 95 yards and a score. McCall notched a career-high for passing yards and tossed a 23-yard game-winning touchdown with 35 seconds to go as the Chanticleers remain perfect with a 42-38 Sun Belt road win over Troy. He finished with 24-of-29 completions for 338 yards and three touchdown passes.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, inclusion on the Watch List is not necessary for the quarterbacks to be selected for the honor. Finalists are scheduled to be announced today and the winner will be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV Remaining start times, network designations for Tulane men's basketball games announced
  • NEXT > Brees practices but status unclear for Chiefs game, Michael Thomas still out Thursday