Eleven Louisiana Sports Hall of Famers, several former Saints make initial list for 2018 Canton induction

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Kevin Mawae, Sam Mills, Alan Faneca
LSU offensive line greats Kevin Mawae (left) and Alan Faneca (right) along with legendary Saints linebacker Sam Mills (center) are 2018 nominees for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Louisiana is prominent in the 108-man list of candidates for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2018 induction class.

Alan Faneca and Kevin Mawae, finalists for the 2017 Canton induction, along with former Dome Patrol linebacker Sam Mills headline the list of former players and coaches who are also Louisiana Sports Hall of Famers under consideration for the Pro Football Hall of Fame induction next summer.

State hall of famers Leonard Marshall, Neil Smith, Albert Lewis, Everson Walls, Brian Mitchell, Buddy Parker, Richie Petitbon and Clark Shaughnessy made the list of modern-era nominees.

Former New Orleans players including Saints Hall of Fame defensive tackle La’Roi Glover, cornerback Eric Allen, fullback Lorenzo Neal and center Jay Hilgenberg are also among the 108 nominees.

The initial nominees will be reduced to 25 semifinalists in November and then 15 finalists in January. See the full list released this week by the Pro Football Hall of Fame here.

  • < PREV Game times, networks set for SEC men's basketball games
  • NEXT > On Track: Fastest players in college football