Eight quarterbacks named Manning Award Stars of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Manning QBs of the week

Fans Vote on Facebook to Select Overall Manning Player of the Week

NEW ORLEANS – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can now go to the Allstate Sugar Bowl Facebook page to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Wednesday at 11 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Davis Brin, Tulsa (18-of-28, 266 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 90.5)

Brin, the Golden Hurricane’s third-string quarterback who had one career pass attempt entering the game, was pressed into action (the top two QBs were injured) in the third quarter with Tulsa trailing 14-0 and led the Golden Hurricane to 24 points, including a rushing TD of his own, as it came from behind for a 30-24 AAC overtime win over Tulane.

Dustin Crum, Kent State (22-of-25, 348 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.7)

Crum, who also rushes for 104 yards and two touchdowns, leads the Golden Flashes to school records for points and total yards (750) in a 69-35 win over Akron as Kent State improves to 3-0 for the first time since 1958.

JT Daniels, Georgia (28-of-38, 401 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.2)

Daniels, who makes his debut for Georgia and tallies career-highs in yards and touchdowns, becomes the first Bulldog to throw for 400 yards since 2013, as the Bulldogs hold off Mississippi State, 31-24.

Kaleb Eleby, Western Michigan (12-of-20, 382 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 97.7)

Eleby, who also rushes for a touchdown, notches career-highs in yards and TDs as he leads the Broncos to 38 unanswered points in a 52-44 road win over Central Michigan in MAC action.

Brady McBride, Texas State (32-of-45, 443 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 73.6)

McBride, who crushes his career-highs in nearly every category, matches the school-record for TD passes and completes three passes in the final 1:43 to set up the game-winning touchdown as the Bobcats upend Arkansas State, 47-45, in Sun Belt action.

Spencer Rattler, Oklahoma (17-of-24, 301 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 97.2)

Rattler, who also runs for a touchdown, notches his fourth 300-yard game of the season as he leads the Sooners to a 41-13 Big 12 victory over archrival Oklahoma State in the annual Bedlam game.

Desmond Ridder, Cincinnati (21-of-32, 338 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 89.7)

Ridder, who also runs for 57 yards and a pair of touchdowns, tallies a season-high in passing yards to go with his fifth four-TD effort as the Bearcats come from behind to defeat UCF, 36-33, in an AAC road game.

Kyle Trask, Florida (26-of-35, 383 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 94.0)

Trask, who reaches 30 TD passes in a season faster than any SEC QB in history, leads the Gators to a 38-17 SEC road victory over Vanderbilt.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, inclusion on the Watch List is not necessary for the quarterbacks to be selected for the honor. Finalists are scheduled to be announced in mid-December and the winner will be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 16 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 12 different schools and from four different conferences. The Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) and the Southeastern Conference (Joe Burrow, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) lead the way with five Manning Award honorees each, while and the Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. LSU (Burrow and Russell) joins Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield) and Texas (McCoy and Young) as the only schools with two different winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV Class 5A playoff analysis: Acadiana is the team to beat, Ruston a good bet to make a run
  • NEXT > Karr-Ellender football playoff game moved to Saturday due to COVID-19 concerns