Eight quarterbacks named Manning Award Stars of the Week

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Manning Stars CFB

Fans Can Now Vote to Select Overall Manning Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (September 18, 2023) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can follow the Manning Award on social media (@ManningAward) to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 491 different quarterbacks from 132 schools have been recognized. Sixty players from 58 different schools were honored during the 2022 season.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Brady Cook, Missouri (23-of-35, 356 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 64.2)
Cook, who also adds a rushing touchdown and notches his career-high for passing yards, leads the Tigers to 13 fourth-quarter points as they upset No. 15 K-State on a last second field goal, 30-27.

Jayden Daniels, LSU (30-of-34, 361 yards, 2 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 95.3)
Daniels, who also runs for 64 yards and a pair of touchdowns, sets the school-record for completion percentage (minimum 25 attempts) as the Tigers roll to a 41-14 SEC road win over Mississippi State.

Brett Gabbert, Miami, Ohio (12-of-20, 237 yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 96.5)
Gabbert, who also runs for 75 yards, connects on an 8-yard touchdown pass in overtime to lift the Redhawks to a 31-24 victory over their oldest rival Cincinnati – snapping a 16-game losing streak in the series.

Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma (28-of-31, 421 yards, 5 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 98.4)
Gabriel, who tallies his seventh career 400-yard game, completes his first 10 passes and 15 of his first 16 as he sets the Oklahoma record for completion percentage (minimum 25 attempts) in a 66-17 blowout of Tulsa on the road.

Darren Grainger, Georgia State (27-of-33, 466 yards, 3 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.7)
Grainger, who registers his career-high for passing yards and also adds a rushing touchdown, connects on a 78-yard TD pass early in the second half to break open the game as the Panthers topped Charlotte, 41-25, on the road.

Michael Penix Jr., Washington (27-of-35, 473 yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.2)
Penix, who notches his third 400-yard game of the year, leads the Huskies to their second-most yardage in history (713) as they blow out Michigan State, 41-7, on the road.

Kaidon Salter, Liberty (16-of-26, 344 yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 86.6)
Salter, who also runs for 66 yards and a touchdown, tallies his career-high for yardage as he leads the Flames to 24 straight points to open the game in a 55-27 road win over Buffalo.

Shedeur Sanders, Colorado (38-of-47, 348 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 63.6)
Sanders, who tallies his third straight 300-yard game, connects on a 45-yard touchdown pass and then completes a two-point conversion pass with 36 seconds to go to force overtime, where he passes for two more TDs as the Buffaloes upend in-state rival Colorado State, 43-35.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 19 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 14 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Stetson Bennett, Bryce Young, Joe Burrow, Mac Jones, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with eight Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. Alabama (Bryce Young and Jones), LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield), and Texas (McCoy and Vince Young) have each produced a pair of Manning Award winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV Pelicans announce broadcast schedule for 2023-24 NBA season
  • NEXT > 2023 Byrd Football Game Notes - Game #4 at Captain Shreve Gators