Eight Quarterbacks Named Manning Award Stars of the Week 11-13-23

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Fans Can Now Vote to Select Overall Manning Quarterback of the Week

NEW ORLEANS (November 13, 2023) – The Manning Award, sponsored by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, has named eight quarterbacks as its “Stars of the Week.” College football fans can follow the Manning Award on social media (@ManningAward) to vote for what they think was the best performance from this past weekend. When voting closes on Thursday at 9 a.m. (Central), the top vote-getter will be announced as the Manning Award Quarterback of the Week.


The Manning Award was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning. It is the only quarterback award that includes the candidates’ bowl performances in its balloting. Since the Manning Award started recognizing Stars of the Week in 2011, 519 different quarterbacks from 133 schools have been recognized. Sixty players were honored during the 2022 season while 56 quarterbacks have been recognized so far this year.

This week’s eight Manning Award Stars of the Week are:

Jayden Daniels, LSU (17-of-26, 606 total yards, 5 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 98.9)

Daniels becomes the first player in FCS history to throw for 350 yards (372) and run for 200 yards (234) as he turns in a dazzling performance in LSU’s 52-35 SEC victory over Florida.

Dequan Finn, Toledo (23-of-27, 417 total yards, 3 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 99.5)

Finn, who throws for 275 yards and three touchdowns in the first half as the Rockets build a 35-3 advantage, leads Toledo to its ninth straight win and the MAC West Division title in a 49-23 win over Eastern Michigan.

Dillon Gabriel, Oklahoma (23-of-36, 473 total yards, 8 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.9)

Gabriel, who notches his sixth 300-yard game of the season, passes for five touchdowns and runs for three more to set an Oklahoma record with eight TDs as he leads the Sooners to a 59-20 Big 12 victory over West Virginia.

Will Howard, Kansas State (19-of-29, 232 total yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 93.3)

Howard, who sets the K-State record for career touchdown passes (45) while connecting on his fifth 3-TD game of the season, leads the Wildcats to a dominant 59-25 Big 12 victory over Baylor.

Jalen Milroe, Alabama (15-of-22, 270 total yards, 6 TDs, QBR: 94.5)

Milroe, who passes for three touchdowns and runs for three more, leads the Crimson Tide to its eight consecutive victory and a trip to the SEC Championship game for the third time in four years with a 49-21 conference road win over Kentucky.

Bo Nix, Oregon (23-of-31, 417 total yards, 4 TDs, 0 INT, QBR: 96.0)

Nix, who opens the game with TD passes of 77 yards and 84 yards on his first two attempts, posts a season-high 412 passing yards while tallying his 12th straight multiple-TD game in a 36-27 Pac-12 victory over USC at home.

John Paddock, Illinois (24-of-36, 507 yards, 4 TDs, 1 INT, QBR: 81.8)

Paddock, who is making his first start at Illinois, records career-highs for passing yards (second most yards in the FBS this year) and TD passes and caps his day with a 21-yard game-winning touchdown pass in overtime to lift the Fighting Illini to a 48-45 Big Ten win over Indiana.

John Rhys Plumlee, UCF (11-of-18, 373 total yards, 4 TDs, QBR: 96.4)

Plumlee, who connects on a 75-yard touchdown pass in the second quarter to build a 24-0 advantage, registers season-bests for passing yards (299) and total touchdowns as he keys the Knights’ shocking 45-2 upset of No. 15 Oklahoma State in a Big 12 showdown.

While the Manning Award selected 30 quarterbacks for its preseason Watch List, additional quarterbacks are expected to be added to the Watch List later in the season. Ten finalists will be selected and the winner is scheduled to be announced following the College Football Playoff National Championship.

In its first 19 years, the Manning Award has recognized the top names in college football. It has honored quarterbacks from 14 different schools and from four different conferences. The Southeastern Conference (Stetson Bennett, Bryce Young, Joe Burrow, Mac Jones, Johnny Manziel, Cam Newton, JaMarcus Russell and Tim Tebow) leads the way with eight Manning Award honorees, while the Big 12 Conference (Kyler Murray, Baker Mayfield, Vince Young, Colt McCoy and Robert Griffin III) has had five winners. The Atlantic Coast Conference (Deshaun Watson twice, Matt Ryan and Jameis Winston) has had four Manning Award winners. Alabama (Bryce Young and Jones), LSU (Burrow and Russell), Oklahoma (Murray and Mayfield), and Texas (McCoy and Vince Young) have each produced a pair of Manning Award winners.

All the Manning Award winners follow in the footsteps of the Mannings themselves. In college, Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning combined for over 25,000 passing yards and 201 touchdowns while playing in 10 bowl games and earning four bowl MVP awards. Archie was the No. 2 pick in the NFL Draft, while both Peyton and Eli were selected No. 1 overall.

  • < PREV SLU’s Randall named SLC Defensive Player of the Week
  • NEXT > Devery Henderson to appear Wednesday on NASH ICON 106.1 FM at Segnette Landing Restaurant