Ed Orgeron named winner of The Home Depot Coach of the Year Award

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
LSU football and Ed Orgeron
(Photo: Jonathan Mailhes)

Fresh off leading LSU to its first College Football Playoff berth, Head Coach Ed Orgeron has been named The Home Depot College Football Coach of the Year. Orgeron will receive the recognition during The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 12, at 7 p.m. ET, on ESPN.

Also on award night, as part of The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Special at 6 p.m., on ESPNU, the John Mackey Award for outstanding tight end will be presented to Harrison Bryant of Florida Atlantic.

Orgeron is in his third full year as the LSU head coach and has lead the Tigers to a 37-9 record in that time, including a currently undefeated 2019 season. The team will play in the program’s first semifinal game, in the CFP era, on Saturday, Dec. 28, when they meet the Oklahoma Sooners in the Chick-fil-A Peach Bowl at 4 p.m., on ESPN. Orgeron was elevated from defensive line coach to interim head coach just four games in to the 2016 campaign, making an immediate impact on the direction of the program. He was named permanent head coach on November 26, 2016.

The Home Depot College Football Awards will also include live presentations of:

Nine National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) player awards
The NCFAA Contributions to College Football Award to Heisman Trophy winner and Georgia Legend Herschel Walker
The Disney Spirit Award recognizing University of Minnesota walk-on placeholder Casey O’Brien
Student-athletes selected to the Walter Camp All-America Team
National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA)
The National College Football Awards Association encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. Founded in 1997, the NCFAA and its 25 awards now boast over 800 recipients, dating to 1935. Visit ncfaa.org to learn more about our story.

  • < PREV SUNO to suspend athletic programs at end of school year
  • NEXT > J'Mar Smith named C-USA Offensive Player of the Year