Duplantis named SEC Field Athlete of the Year

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Mondo Duplantis at LSU

Baton Rouge, La. – Add SEC Men’s Field Athlete of the Year and Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year honors to the growing list of Mondo Duplantis’ accomplishments since he began collegiate competition with LSU track and field in late January.

Duplantis, who has competed four times for LSU this indoor season, owns three of the top eight best pole vault clearances in indoor collegiate history including the collegiate record of 19’ 5” (5.92 meters) that he registered at the SEC Championships on Feb. 22 to claim gold in the event. He has won titles at his other three events as well – Razorback Invitational (Jan. 25/19’ 1.50”), LSU Bayou Bengal (Feb. 1/19’ 3”) and LSU Twilight (Feb. 15/18’ 7.50”).

Duplantis becomes only the second athlete in SEC history and the first since Christian Taylor (Florida) did so in 2009 to be named both the SEC Field Athlete of the Year and SEC Freshman Field Athlete of the Year. He is the second LSU men’s athlete to ever claim the SEC Field Athlete of the Year honor alongside Walter Henning (2010). Additionally, he is the first LSU male athlete to be named the SEC Men’s Field Freshman Athlete of the Year.

Duplantis will lead the No. 3 men’s squad into the NCAA Championships this weekend in Birmingham, Alabama. He will compete in the pole vault on Friday night at 5:30 p.m. CT.

Duplantis’ 2019 Accomplishments

  • Set Collegiate Record
  • Set LSU School Record
  • Three Appearances on The Bowerman Watch List
  • World No. 3 for 2019
  • SEC Men’s Field Athlete of the Year
  • SEC Men’s Freshman Field Athlete of the Year
  • 2x SEC Men’s Field Athlete of the Week
  • 1x SEC Men’s Freshman of the Week

The SEC also released the All-SEC honorees for the indoor season in unison with the athletes of the year release. LSU had five members on the first team: Duplantis, Abby O’Donoghue (high jump), Rayvon Grey (long jump), Kortnei Johnson (60 meter dash) and JuVaughn Harrison (high jump). The aforementioned five athletes were named to the first team after they won titles in their events at the SEC meet.

LSU had six athletes named to the All-SEC second team and four named to the SEC All-Freshman team. Athletes were awarded with second-team honors if they finished second or third in their events at the conference meet, and the all-freshman team consisted of the top freshman finisher in each event at the SEC Championships.

SEC Honors

First Team – Duplantis, O’Donoghue, Grey, Johnson, Harrison

Second Team – Correion Mosby (4x400m Relay), Tyler Terry (4x400m Relay), Jaron Flournoy (4x400m Relay/200m Dash), Tonea Marshall (60m Hurdles), Ersula Farrow (800m Run), Dylan Peebles (4x400m Relay)

Freshman Team – Ariyonna Augustine (60m Dash), Kenan Jones (Long Jump), Duplantis, RC Walbrook (Heptathlon)

  • < PREV Kiki-Baker Barnes named Under Armour Athletics Director of the Year recipient
  • NEXT > Demons kick off spring drills Thursday