De-La Salle-Country Day; St. Aug-Brother Martin highlight Friday night boys basketball slate

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Area Boys Prep Basketball Report for Friday, Jan. 11

A pair of teams that have recently won state titles and a pair of teams that have won state titles and appeared in state title games in recent times will hook up tonight in the two feature matchups around the metro New Orleans area tonight.

In Metairie, Country Day plays host to De La Salle tonight at 7.

It is a rematch as the Cajuns (13-7) edged the Cavaliers 60-58 in the Country Day tournament Dec. 15. The Cavaliers (12-6) have won seven of their last nine games.

De La Salle is third in the most recent Division II LHSAA power rankings while Country Day is currently third in the latest Division III power rankings.

Both teams lost in the state semifinals a year ago after both won state championships in 2017.

At Bob Conlin Gymnasium, Gentilly neighbors St. Augustine and Brother Martin renew their rivalry at 7 pm

Brother Martin played for the Division I title in 2017 and most recently won a state title in 2010 while St. Augustine last won a state championship in 2011 and reached the state championship game in 2012.

St. Aug (23-2, 2-0) has won its last 14 games. The Purple Knights whipped the Crusaders 61-38 in the Valero Christmas Classic at Chalmette on Dec. 14. The Crusaders (10-12, 2-1) have district victories over Archbishop Rummel and Archbishop Shaw.

Area Boys Prep Basketball Results from Thursday, Jan. 10

New Orleans Area

John Ehret 38, NOMMA 33

Baton Rouge Area

Varnado 76, Mount Hermon 61

Walker 65, Catholic (BR) 59

Woodlawn (BR) 68, Central 55

Bayou Area

Ellender 54, Patterson 42

Area Boys Prep Basketball Schedule for Friday, Jan. 11

New Orleans Area

Albany at Bogalusa, 7 pm

Archbishop Shaw at Jesuit, 7 pm

Cohen at International High, 6:30 pm

Covington at Fontainebleau, 7 pm

Helen Cox at McDonogh 35, 6:45 pm

Crescent City Christian at South Plaquemines, 6:15 pm

John Curtis Christian at Holy Cross, 7 pm

De La Salle at Country Day, 7 pm

East Jefferson at Bonnabel, 7 pm

Einstein Charter at Patrick Taylor, 7 pm

Ben Franklin at Lusher, 7 pm

Hammond at Northshore, 7:30 pm

Independence at Pope John Paul II, 7 pm

Thomas Jefferson at Belle Chasse, 6:45 pm

KIPP-B.T. Washington at Carver, 7 pm

Landry-Walker at Karr, 6 pm

Lee Magnet at Haynes, 7 pm

Mandeville at Slidell, 7 pm

Northlake Christian at Pine, 7:30 pm

Peabody at Sophie B. Wright, 5 pm

Pearl River at Clark, 6:30 pm

Ponchatoula at St. Paul’s, 7 pm

Riverdale at Grace King, 6:15 pm

Sci Academy at Livingston Collegiate, 7 pm

St. Augustine at Brother Martin, 7 pm

St. James at West St. John, 6 pm

Terrebonne at East St. John, 7:15 pm

Thibodaux at Hahnville, 7 pm

Baton Rouge Area

Alexandria at St. Amant, 7 pm

Bolton at Runnels, 6 pm

Broadmoor at Baker, 6 pm

Carencro at Jehovah-Jireh, 7 pm

Catholic (PC) at Opelousas Catholic, 7 pm

Christ Episcopal at Family Christian, 7 pm

Dutchtown at East Ascension, 7 pm

False River at Westminster Christian, 7 pm

Franklinton at Woodlawn (BR), 7:15 pm

French Settlement at Doyle, 6 pm

Hanson Memorial at Ascension Catholic, 6 pm

Livonia at Episcopal, 7 pm

Loranger at Archbishop Hannan, 7:15 pm

McKinley at The Church Academy, 7 pm

Morgan City at Madison Prep, 7 pm

Northeast at Capitol, 5 pm

Phoenix at East Iberville, 6 pm

Southern Lab at Parkview Baptist, 7 pm

Springfield at Central, 7:15 pm

St. John at Plaquemine, 6 pm

St. Martinville at Baton Rouge, 7 pm

Tara at Glen Oaks, 7 pm

Vandebilt Catholic at Lutcher, 7 pm

Walker at Live Oak, 7 pm

Bayou Area

Centerville at Rayne, 7 pm

Destrehan at Central Lafourche, 7 pm

Erath at Patterson, 7 pm

Kaplan at Berwick, 5:15 pm

  • < PREV Girls Basketball: Landry-Walker edges KIPP-Booker T. Washington, 32-31
  • NEXT > Ingram-Kamara combo hold key to Saints success against Eagles
Ken Trahan

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE Owner and CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Football Foundation, College…

Read more >