Cicily Hidalgo of Teurlings Catholic named 2019-20 Gatorade Louisiana Volleyball Player of the Year

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

CHICAGO — In its 35th year of honoring the nation’s best high school athletes, The Gatorade Company today announced Cicily Hidalgo of Teurlings Catholic High School as its 2019-20 Gatorade Louisiana Volleyball Player of the Year. Hidalgo is the first Gatorade Louisiana Volleyball Player of the Year to be chosen from Teurlings Catholic High School.

The award, which recognizes not only outstanding athletic excellence, but also high standards of academic achievement and exemplary character demonstrated on and off the field, distinguishes Hidalgo as Louisiana’s best high school volleyball player. Now a finalist for the prestigious Gatorade National Volleyball Player of the Year award to be announced in January, Hidalgo joins an elite alumni association of state award-winners in 12 sports, including USA Volleyball players Kayla Banwarth (2006-07, Wahlert High School, Iowa), Alisha Glass (2005-06, Leland Public High School, Mich.), Jordan Larson (2004-05, Logan View High School, Neb.) and Foluke Akinradewo (2004-05, St. Thomas High School, Fla.).

The 6-foot junior outside hitter led the Rebels to a 44-6 record and a third-straight Division II state championship this past season. Hidalgo amassed 526 digs, 517 kills, 86 assists, 85 blocks and 32 service aces while posting a kill percentage of .566 and a hitting percentage of .476. The 2019 Division II state tournament MVP and a two-time First Team All-State selection, she concluded her junior year with 1,270 kills and 1,247 digs in her prep volleyball career.

Hidalgo has volunteered locally as part of multiple fundraising campaigns to benefit cancer research. She has also donated her time as a peer tutor and youth volleyball coach. “Cicily Hidalgo has a great all-around game,” said Rachel Schulingkamp, head coach of Mandeville High School. “Her volleyball IQ combined with her athletic ability sets her apart.”

Hidalgo has maintained a 3.43 GPA in the classroom. She will begin her senior year of high school this fall.

The Gatorade Player of the Year program annually recognizes one winner in the District of Columbia and each of the 50 states that sanction high school football, girls volleyball, boys and girls cross country, boys and girls basketball, boys and girls soccer, baseball, softball, and boys and girls track & field, and awards one National Player of the Year in each sport. The selection process is administered by the Gatorade Player of the Year Selection Committee, which work with top sport-specific experts and a media advisory board of accomplished, veteran prep sports journalists to determine the state winners in each sport.

Hidalgo joins recent Gatorade Louisiana Volleyball Players of the Year Ellie Holzman (2018 – 19, 2017-18 & 2016-17, Mount Carmel Academy), Kristen Nuss (2015-16, Mount Carmel Academy), and Katie Kampen (2014-15 & 2013-14, Mount Carmel Academy) among the state’s list of former award winners.

As a part of Gatorade’s cause marketing platform “Play it Forward,” Hidalgo has the opportunity to award a $1,000 grant to a local or national youth sports organization of her choosing. She is also eligible to submit an essay to win one of twelve $10,000 spotlight grants for the organization of choice, which will be announced throughout the year.

Since the program’s inception in 1985, Gatorade Player of the Year award recipients have won hundreds of professional and college championships, and many have also turned into pillars in their communities, becoming coaches, business owners and educators.

To learn more about the Gatorade Player of the Year program, check out past winners or to nominate student-athletes, visit, on Facebook at or follow us on Twitter at

For information about how we process personal data, please visit our privacy policy at and our privacy policy applicable to the European Economic Area at

  • < PREV Bowling: Brother Martin, AOL open quests for “three-peats” as season begins Monday
  • NEXT > Video: Hoolahan, Waters among honorees at Football Writers breakfast