Chase Fourcade named to STATS FCS Walter Payton Award Watch List

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Chase Fourcade

CHICAGO – Nicholls State University senior quarterback Chase Fourcade was one of 25 players to be named to the STATS FCS Walter Payton Award Watch List, the organization announced Wednesday.

The Payton Award, given to the offensive player of the year in college football’s Division I subdivision and first awarded in 1987, has watched past winners such as Steve McNair, Tony Romo, Brian Westbrook, John Friesz, Brian Finneran, Jimmy Garoppolo and Cooper Kupp move on to the NFL.

The 2018 Southland Player of the Year, Fourcade is coming off a career campaign where he became the program’s all-time leading passer while leading the Colonels to their second Southland title in school history. He threw for just shy of 3,000 yards and 21 touchdowns, and rushed for a team-high 13 touchdowns and 659 yards.

Along with being one of the best dual-threat quarterbacks in the country, Fourcade ranked 14th in the FCS in passing efficiency (145.9) and was 27th in completion percentage (60.8).

The award will be presented at the STATS FCS Banquet and Presentation, which is set to take place during the week leading up to the 2020 Division I Football Championship Game on January 11 in Frisco, Texas.


The Colonels report to camp on Thursday, Aug. 1 with their first practice set for Friday. For a complete schedule, please check back on


Season tickets for Nicholls football are available by visiting or calling the Nicholls Ticket Office at 985-448-4790. The home opener is scheduled for Oct. 5 against Central Arkansas and the season opener is slated for Aug. 31 at Kansas State.

  • < PREV Riverdale makes jump to Class 5A, seeks to break through
  • NEXT > McNeese Football Fall Camp Preview - Linebackers