Catholic, Teurlings, Basile on top with Brother Martin, St’s Paul’s, Shaw lurking at state wrestling finals

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

BOSSIER CITY – The stage is set for a showdown Saturday in Division I.

Brother Martin, which has controlled Division I in Louisiana wrestling for nearly a decade, has a very strong challenge on its hand to repeat as champions in 2020.

While the Crusaders have won seven of the last eight state titles, St. Paul’s is in a very good position to claim its first-ever Division I championship while Catholic of Baton Rouge topped both New Orleans area teams to claim a very slim lead heading into the final day of the 2020 Allstate Sugar Bowl LHSAA state wrestling championships at CenturyLink Center.

The Bears have 157 points to 155 for Brother Martin. St. Paul’s has 150.5.

The Wolves, who won Division II state titles in 2000 and 2001, are healthy after dealing with injuries, have an advantage, advancing 10 wrestlers into the semifinals while the Crusaders have eight still alive. St. Paul’s coach Matt Pinero is pleased with where his team is.

“That’s the thing we’ve been talking about as a team for a couple of months not really is that we felt like in years past, we kind of peaked early and our focus all season long was to peak at the right time,” Pinero said. “We’re feeling about the way we are wrestling. There is great team energy. It was a really good day. Having 10 of 14 in the semifinals is a good number.”

Brother Martin suffered a blow when top-seeded Mason Massicot was upset in the quarterfinals at 160 pounds and subsequently lost his next consolation match as well. Massicot was only one of two of the 42 top seeds to be eliminated in the quarterfinals.

“It’s never a good day when you have a returning state champion and another state finalist that are out on day one,” Brother Martin coach Andrew Nicola said. “Eight in the semifinals, we’ll take it. We’ve got a couple of more guys wrestling on the back side. It’s a new day tomorrow. I feel very, very good about our eight guys that are wrestling on the top end.”

The Bears advanced five wrestlers into the semifinals.

Holy Cross is a competitive fourth with 142 points. The Tigers have five wrestlers in the semifinals. Holy Cross is the last team other than Brother Martin to win a Division I crown, doing so in 2017.

A year ago, Parkway ended the stranglehold on the Division II state championship of Teurlings Catholic, who had won five straight state titles.

With Parkway now in Division I, the Rebels appear poised to return to the top of the podium.

The Rebels carry the lead into Saturday’s semifinals in Division II with 135 points with Rayne second at 114.5 points. North DeSoto is third with 114 points. Shaw is fourth at 107.5 points while Archbishop Rummel is fifth with 91 points.

Teurlings Catholic and North DeSoto each have 10 in the semifinals while Shaw has eight. Rayne has just four.

“I think we’re in a good spot,” Shaw coach Brandon Surrency said. “I think we’ve got a lot of potential going into the semis and we have many head-to-head matchups with North DeSoto tomorrow. I’m confident in my guys. Things have been going according to form. I’m just ready roll, ready to get to tomorrow.”

Defending state champion Basile is on the verge of repeating as champion in Division III. The Bearcats have 113 points with Brusly second with 104 points. De La Salle is third with 96.5 points. St. Louis Catholic is fourth with 91.5 points and Archbishop Hannan is fifth with 91 points.

Basile has nine wrestlers in the semifinals, Brusly has eight and De La Salle has six. Luke Robertson of the Cavaliers upset top seed Andrew Lynch of Church Point by fall in the quarterfinals.

Consolations begin at 9 a.m. Saturday with the semifinals set for 10:30 p.m. The finals are Saturday evening just after 5 p.m.

Division I Team Scores
1 Catholic, BR 157.0
2 Brother Martin 155.0
3 St. Paul’s 150.5
4 Holy Cross 142.0
5 St. Amant 117.5
6 Parkway 106.0
7 C.E. Byrd 102.0
7 East Ascension 102.0
9 Jesuit 85.5
10 Live Oak 82.0
11 Sulphur 80.0
12 Chalmette 72.5
13 Fontainebleau 64.0
14 Zachary 57.5
15 Comeaux 56.5
16 Acadiana 55.5
17 Baton Rouge 48.0
18 Hahnville 47.0
19 Dutchtown 45.0
20 Airline 43.5
21 Covington 41.5
22 Mandeville 39.0
23 Lafayette 33.5
24 Barbe 29.0
25 Destrehan 25.0
26 Sam Houston 24.0
27 Southside 23.0
28 Central BR 19.0
29 Bonnabel 8.0
30 Grace King 6.0
30 John Ehret 6.0
32 Terrebonne 3.0

Division II Team Scores
1 Teurlings Catholic 135.0
2 Rayne 114.5
3 North Desoto 113.0
4 Archbishop Shaw 107.5
5 Archbishop Rummel 91.0
6 Carencro 89.0
7 Belle Chasse 81.5
8 Haughton 61.0
9 Lakeshore 51.0
10 Pearl River 35.0
11 NO Military & Maritime Academy 30.0
12 Benton 24.0
13 North Vermillion 21.0
14 Caddo Magnet 18.5
15 St. Thomas More 17.0
16 Riverdale 14.0
17 Istrouma 11.0
18 McKinley 7.0
19 Huntington 6.0
20 Minden 5.0
21 Northside 4.0
22 Broadmoor 2.0
23 Plaquemine 1.0

Division III Team Scores
1 Basile 113.0
2 Brusly 104.0
3 De La Salle 96.5
4 St. Louis Catholic 91.5
5 Archbishop Hannan 91.0
6 John Curtis Christian School 82.0
7 Evangel Christian Academy 74.0
8 South Beauregard 63.5
9 St. Michael The Archangel 60.0
10 Kaplan 49.0
11 Church Point 45.0
12 Bossier 28.0
13 Thomas Jefferson 24.0
14 Dunham 15.0
15 DeQuincy 13.0
16 Calvary Baptist 12.5
17 Haynes Academy 10.0
18 Erath 9.0
18 Lakeside 9.0
18 South Plaquemines 9.0
18 Summerfield 9.0
22 Episcopal 4.0
23 Einstein Charter 0.0

  • < PREV Shaq's son Shareef O'Neal to transfer to LSU
  • NEXT > Soccer: Archbishop Hannan reach semifinals while Lakeshore, STA fall short
Ken Trahan

Ken Trahan

Chief Executive Officer

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >