Byrd’s Moss, Barbe prove too much to overcome in Division I girls golf finals

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

YOUNGSVILLE – First-day leader Sydney Moss of C.E. Byrd turned in the day’s low round by five shots and used that effort to roll to the individual crown, while Barbe took the girls Division I team title here Tuesday in the Allstate Sugar Bowl LHSAA State Golf Championships.

Moss birdied three of her final four holes to finish at two-under 72 over the 5,679-yard par-74 Les Vieux Chenes layout. Paired with her opening-round 75 on Monday, Moss finished at one-under 147 and seven strokes ahead of her nearest competition.

Sarah Meral of St. Scholastica finished as runner-up for the second straight year in matching 77-77—154 scores, while Blair McKenzie of Mandeville was another four shots back in third place at 158.

Isabella Bradley of Barbe finished fourth at 79-85—164, and paired with the 91-86—177 score of teammate Isabella Callaba to give Barbe an easy win in the team title chase. The Buccaneers’ winning 341 total was 29 strokes better than runner-up Dutchtown, which finished at 370 and won a close battle for runner-up honors with Mt. Carmel (371), Sulphur (373) and St. Scholastica (379).

Hannah Pitre led Dutchtown’s second-place effort with a sixth-place finish at 84-83—167 while Halle Plaisance of Central Lafourche finished seventh at 168.

Division I

At Les Vieux Chenes-Youngsville

Par 74

TEAM STANDINGS: 1. Barbe 170-171—341. 2. Dutchtown 188-182—370. Mt. Carmel 190-181—371. 3. Sulphur 189-184—373. 4. St. Scholastica 191-188—379. 5. Dominican 190-193—383. 6. Byrd 193-196—389. 7. Benton 228-219—447


1. Sydney Moss, Byrd 75-72—147

2. Sarah Meral, St. Scholastica 77-77—154

3. Blair McKenzie, Mandeville 80-78—158

4. Isabella Bradley, Barbe 79-85—164

5. Victoria Stephens, Mt. Carmel 80-85—165

6. Hannah Pitre, Dutchtown 84-83—167

7. Halle Plaisance, Cen Lafourche 84-84—168

8. Marta Bollinger, Alexandria 84-88—172

9. Aubrey Stark, Northshore 86-89—175

10. Mackenzie Toney, Sulphur 92-84—176

11. Isabella Callaba, Barbe 91-86—177

12. Caroline Covington, Den. Sprs 93-85—178

t. Audrey Pharr, St. Thomas More 95-83—178

14. Corinne Landry, Lafayette 91-92—183

15. Ada Holmes, Dominican 91-100—191

  • < PREV Local owners relish in dominant Derby Day victory at Churchill
  • NEXT > Caden Lester, Ouachita Christian soar to Division IV boys golf championship