Brother Martin, Teurlings Catholic, Brusly carry leads into final day of LHSAA wrestling championships

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

BATON ROUGE – Form held on the first day of the Ochsner/LHSAA state wrestling championships at the Raising Canes River Center in Baton Rouge with all three favorites in each division looking the part in solid fashion while a traditional power in Division III threatens to invade the top spot on the podium Saturday.

In Division I, Brother Martin was outstanding, carrying a 162.5-148.5 lead over Catholic of Baton Rouge. Jesuit is third at 137.5 with defending champion St. Paul’s fourth 118.5. East Ascension is fifth with 111 points.

The Crusaders advanced eight of 14 wrestlers to the semifinals Saturday morning, including top seeds Richie Clementi (113), Mason Elsensohn (132) and Rocco Horvath (170).

Haviing dominated the class by winning eight of the last 10 Division I state titles, Brother Martin finished a disappointing fourth a year ago but are poised to return to the top spot of the podium Saturday.

“We wrestled well early in the day but we cannot lose consolations like we did this evening,” Brother Martin coach Andrew Nicola said. “We’ve got a job to do so now we have to go out and accomplish it tomorrow to win a title. We have to count on those top-side guys to do their job and make a run tomorrow.”

Catholic of Baton Rouge has seven wrestlers moving on to the semifinals.

The Bears have a pair of head-to-head matchups with the Crusaders in the semifinals, including Grant Grizzaffi against Clementi at 113 pounds and Richard Carroll against Horvath at 170,

Jesuit has five wrestlers in the semifinals, including top seeds Will McConnell (182) and Spencer Lanosga (285).

Defending champion St. Paul’s advanced six to the semifinals, including top seeds Jacob Houser (138) and Grant Nastasi (152).

In Division II, defending champion and favorite Teurlings Catholic was dominant on Friday, qualifying 12 of 14 wrestlers for the semifinals, building a 17-point lead on second place Archbishop Shaw at 148.5 to 131.5. Rayne is third at 130 with Archbishop Rummel is fourth at 118. The Eagles have nine wrestlers in the semifinals while the Raiders and North DeSoto each have seven in the round of four.

For the Rebels, top seeds in the semifinals include Ashton Sonnier (113), Ethan Boudreaux (132) and Eric Levert (195).

For the Eagles, top seeds in the semifinals include Glenn Price (120), Todd Ritter (152) and Jude Monaco (182) in their quest for a first-ever state championship.

“We’re confident that we can put a game plan together to be successful on Saturday,” Shaw coach Brandon Surrency said. “We were very pleased with the way we wrestled today. We’re excited. If we do our job and come back in the consolations and win, we will have a chance. I think we’re in a good spot and control our own destiny.”

Shaw has a trio of head-to-head semifinal matchups with Teurlings Catholic, including Blake Andre against Brennan Romero at 106 pounds, Kobe Nguyen against Sonnier at 113 and Chad Gooden against Joel Lanclos at 220.

For the Raiders, top seeds Kaiden Triche (106) and Carter Burgess have reached the semifinals.

In Division III, traditional power Brusly has a narrow 107-106 lead over defending champion and favorite Basile. De La Salle and John Curtis Christian are tied for third with 87 points and St. Louis Catholic is fifth with 74 points.

The Panthers have top seeds in the semifinals in Andre Johnson (126), Luc Johnson (138), Christian Bergeron (182) and Anphrony Guillory (285)

The Cavaliers forwarded three wrestlers into the semifinals including Dylan Duvernay (106), Collin Veron (132) and Liam O’ Connor (145).

Basile advanced 11 wrestlers into the semifinals while the De La Salle and Brusly each have eight in the round of four. St. Louis Catholic has six, Archbishop Hannan has five and John Curtis Christian advanced four.

Basile has a pair of head-to-head matchups in the semifinals with Brusly, including Pierson Comeaux against Brylin Poston at 106 and Christian Bergeron against Allen Young at 182.

Wrestling resumes at 10 a.m. Saturday with the semifinals with the finals set for 5 p.m.


Division I
1 Brother Martin 162.5
2 Catholic, BR 148.5
3 Jesuit 137.5
4 St. Paul’s 118.5
5 East Ascension 111.0
6 Parkway 101.0
7 Holy Cross 94.0
7 Zachary 94.0
9 Dutchtown 87.0
10 Chalmette 86.0
11 Fontainebleau 75.0
12 Live Oak 67.5
13 Airline 63.0
14 Comeaux 62.0
15 Baton Rouge 59.0
16 Southside 55.5
17 Sam Houston 52.5
18 Destrehan 48.5
19 Hahnville 45.5
20 St. Amant 45.0
21 Sulphur 44.0
22 Lafayette 37.0
23 Central BR 31.0
24 Acadiana 30.0
25 Walker 28.5
26 Covington 24.5
27 Mandeville 22.0
28 Terrebonne 15.0
29 Grace King 11.0
30 John Ehret 4.0
31 C.E. Byrd 0.0

Division II
1 Teurlings Catholic 148.5
2 Archbishop Shaw 131.5
3 Rayne 130.0
4 Archbishop Rummel 118.0
5 North Desoto 93.5
6 Lakeshore 63.0
7 North Vermillion 58.0
8 Benton 55.5
9 Carencro 55.0
10 Caddo Magnet 48.0
11 Haughton 44.0
12 Belle Chasse 38.0
13 St. Thomas More 35.0
14 Pearl River 33.0
15 Broadmoor 20.0
16 NO Military & Maritime Academy 17.0
17 Northside 11.0
17 Plaquemine 11.0
17 Riverdale 11.0
20 McKinley 7.0
21 Westgate 3.0
22 East Jefferson 0.0
22 Salmen 0.0
22 Woodlawn 0.0

Division III
1 Brusly 107.0
2 Basile 106.0
3 De La Salle 87.0
3 John Curtis Christian 87.0
5 St. Louis Catholic 74.0
6 Archbishop Hannan 69.5
7 St. Michael The Archangel 58.5
8 Evangel Christian Academy 54.0
9 Thomas Jefferson 31.0
10 Kaplan 20.0
11 South Beauregard 18.0
12 Lake Charles College Prep 17.0
13 DeQuincy 16.0
14 Haynes Academy 14.0
15 Bossier 11.0
15 Erath 11.0
17 Calvary Baptist 9.0
18 Dunham 7.0
19 Episcopal 1.0
20 Church Point 0.0

  • < PREV Allstate Sugar Bowl has many Super Bowl LVI connections
  • NEXT > Softball: LSU opens Tiger Classic with pair of victories

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >