Brother Martin, Mount Carmel win track & field district titles

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Brother Martin captured the District 9-5A boys track and field district championship Thursday at Tad Gormley Stadium with 159 points with Jesuit second at 138 points.

The Crusaders had four individual champions, dominating the field events.

Grant Buquoi won the shot put, Logan Farrell captured first in the discus and Evan Starring won the javelin throw. Torey Lambert was victorious in the 300 meter hurdles.

Michael Vocke of Jesuit was a two-event champion, capturing both the 800 and 1,600 meter runs.

By winning his ninth district track and field championship, Brother Martin coach Brad Duplechain passed legendary coach Chubby Marks for the most track and field championships in school history.

Mount Carmel Academy edged John Curtis Christian 99-90 to win the girls District 9-5A title.

For Mount Carmel, Arianna White broke the district javelin record with a throw of 131.8.

Nashia Landry was a double winner for the Cubs, taking both the 800 and 1,600 meter runs. Alexandra Olivari won the high jump, Natalie Dotson took the pole vault and Bailey Schexnaildre won the long jump for Mount Carmel.

Raven Nunnery of John Curtis was superb in winning both the 100 meter and 200 meter runs. Nunnery set a new meet record in the 100, running a time of 11.84 seconds.

District 9-5A Meet Results
Boys Team Scores: 1. Brother Martin 159, 2. Jesuit 138, 3. St. Augustine 88, 4. John Curtis 79, 5. Archbishop Shaw 48, 6. Holy Cross 40, 7. Archbishop Rummel 30.

Girls Team Scores: 1. Mount Carmel 99 points, 2. John Curtis Christian 90, 3. Dominican 64, 4. Archbishop Chapelle 32.

  • < PREV Baseball: Lusher, Covington and St. Paul’s claim district titles, Brother Martin wins ahead of finale with Holy Cross
  • NEXT > 16-year-old Jesuit star Putsy Caballero helped fill major-league rosters during World War II

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >