Basketball: St. Augustine, Sophie B. Wright take weekend tournament titles

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Area Boys Prep Basketball Report for Sunday, Dec. 30

A pair of local teams continued to shine yesterday with both having legitimate shots at reaching state title games down the road.

St. Augustine jumped on Thibodaux early and never let up in an impressive 89-55 win over the Tigers in the title game of the Purple Knight Classic.

St. Aug basketball

St. Aug led 20-11 after one quarter and blew the game open in the second quarter to lead 45-21 by halftime. It was 63-37 after three quarters.

Jaron Pierre exploded for 30 points to lead the Purple Knights (19-2) to earn Most Valuable Player honors while Dante Smith had 16 points. Jalvin Mitchell had 12 points while Devon Jefferson added 11 for St. Aug.

Marvin Robertson, III and Rashod Robertson each had 13 points for Thibodaux (14-2).

At St. Thomas More, Sophie B. Wright led from start to finish in downing Carencro 69-55 for the championship of the Sunkist Shootout.

The Warriors (18-3) established an edge that it would not relinquish in the first quarter, outscoring Carencro 24-11. It was 36-26 at halftime. The Warriors led 50-40 after three quarters and were never threatened.

Sophie B. Wright basketball

Damiree Burns earned Most Valuable Player honors. Sophie B. Wright has won six straight games.

Area Boys Prep Basketball Results from Saturday, Dec. 29

New Orleans Area

Bonnabel 47, McMain 42

Christian Brothers (TN) 73, Brother Martin 55

Delcambre 53, Pope John Paul II 31

Donaldsonville 64, Loranger 49

East Ascension 54, Chalmette 52

John Ehret 45, Riverdale 34

Fontainebleau 65, Vermilion Catholic 46

Lakeshore 55, Albany 33

Lusher 54, Archbishop Rummel 41

St. Augustine 89, Thibodaux 55

St. Charles Catholic 68, Family Christian 57

St. Thomas More 66, Riverside Academy 47

University High 56, Northshore 51

Varnado 51, Pine 49

Sophie B. Wright 69, Carencro 55

E.D. White Catholic 83, West St. John 55

Baton Rouge Area

Broadmoor 51, Glen Oaks 46

Brusly 53, St. Louis Catholic 45

Catholic (BR) 59, De La Salle 45

Central 63, Northlake Christian 44

Denham Springs 58, Lakeview 52

East Iberville 58, David Thibodaux 57

Episcopal 61, Mandeville 42

Holy Cross 57, West Feliciana 25

LaGrange 74, Parkview Baptist 70

Lee Magnet 59, Belaire 54

Madison Prep 69. Bossier 59

Runnels 69, St. Michael 59

Scotlandville 85, Zachary 51

Walker 69, Country Day 65

White Castle 49, Plaquemine 47

Bayou Area

Alexandria 65, Berwick 34

Assumption 65, Rayne 58

H.L. Bourgeois 55, South Lafourche 52

Central Catholic 52, Terrebonne 47

Central Lafourche 46, South Terrebonne 22

Ellender 81, Bolton 69

Madison Ridgeland Academy (MS) 52, Vandebilt Catholic 35

Peabody 108, Jeanerette 44

  • < PREV Soccer: SSA wins two matches in Lakeshore Christmas Tournament
  • NEXT > Sophie B. Wright takes home Sunkist Shootout title on busy final day
Ken Trahan

Ken Trahan

Chief Executive Officer

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >