Amite turns it on in the second half to down Karr at Sugar Bowl tourney

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

WESTWEGO – Ranked first in the state in the LHSAA Class 2A power rankings, Amite is upholding that respect in the 11th Annual Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic.

The Lady Warriors broke open a close game with big runs in the third and fourth quarters to defeat Karr 46-35 in the semifinals of the Girls Gold Bracket Friday night at the Alario Center.

The game was even in the first half, as even as you can get.

The two teams were tied 13-13 after one quarter and it was tied 25-25 at halftime.

After the Lady Cougars took a 29-27 lead in the third quarter, Amite answered with an 8-0 run to close the quarter to take a 35-29 lead.

After Karr pulled with 35-31, Amite put the game away with an 11-2 run, including an 8-0 run.

Jalencia Pierre controlled play from start to finish, scoring 20 points with eight assists, five steals and a pair of rebounds. Hai’ley Brumfield scored 12 points and had seven rebounds with two steals. Curtissiyah Jenkins had eight points and six rebounds.

Amite was simply outstanding defensively, holding Karr to just 10 points in the second half.

Karr (11-10) was led by Tyrione Sparks with nine points on a trio of 3-pointers, along with six rebounds, while Ay’Jay Henry had eight points and three rebounds.

Amite (15-2) advances to meet Ouachita Christian, who defeated Dominican, for the Gold Bracket championship Saturday at 2 p.m. You can watch it live at

Amite 13 12 10 11 — 46
Karr 13 12 4 6 — 35

Amite: Jalencia Pierre 20, Hai’ley Brumfield 12, Curtissiyah Jenkins 8, A’yana Weber 6

Karr: Tyrione Sparks 9, Ay’Jay Henry 8, Tatyana Barber 7, Yanila Morales 6, Tori Walker 5

Amite: 24, Karr 31

Amite 7, Karr 15

  • < PREV Lafayette girls edge Curtis to reach Sugar tournament final
  • NEXT > Cole Kelley tabbed runner-up in repeat attempt for Walter Payton Award

Ken Trahan


Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >