Video: Allstate Sugar Bowl welcome four to New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Women in Sport Scholarships 2023

Bowl Recognizes 30 Individuals and Three Teams at Annual Awards Banquet

NEW ORLEANS – The Allstate Sugar Bowl welcomed four inductees into its Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame at its annual awards banquet on Saturday, August 5, at Caesars Superdome’s Club XLIV.

In addition to the Hall of Famers, the annual James J. Corbett Awards for the top male and female amateur athletes in the state of Louisiana were presented along with honors for 18 other individuals and three teams.

The Sugar Bowl also presented six $10,000 Women in Sport Scholarships to outstanding New Orleans area female student-athletes. The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee selects all of the honorees.

The Women in Sport Scholarship winners (photo attached) were selected based on their athletic and academic success as well as their involvement in community service and an essay they wrote regarding why they felt they were deserving of an Allstate Sugar Bowl scholarship. The honorees were Alex Bremond (Pope John Paul II soccer, tennis, and track & field), Alayna Cardenal (Thomas Jefferson Academy softball and dance), Molly Mangiapane (Archbishop Chapelle basketball, cross country, and track & field), Zaria Nelson (Isidore Newman volleyball, basketball, track & field), Kiersten Taylor (Pearl River soccer, cross country), and Lindsey Wickersham (Mount Carmel volleyball).

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Inductee: Grace Daley, Tulane Basketball

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Inductee: Frank Monica, St. Charles Catholic Football

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Inductee: Steve Mura, Redemptorist/Tulane Baseball

Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame Class of 2023 Inductee: Wayne Reese, Carver/McDonogh 35 Football

Corbett Award – Male: Dylan Crews, LSU Baseball

Corbett Award – Female: Angel Reese, LSU Basketball

Jimmy Collins Special Awards: Tulane Football & Lisa Stockton (Tulane Women’s Basketball Coach)

Outstanding Boys’ Prep Coach of the Year, New Orleans: Cullen Doody, Jesuit Cross Country

Outstanding Girls’ Prep Coach of the Year, New Orleans: Chris Prator, St. Scholastica Swimming

Outstanding Female Amateur Athlete, New Orleans: Alia Armstrong, LSU Track & Field

Outstanding Male Amateur Athlete, New Orleans: Tyjae Spears, Tulane Football

Outstanding Boys’ Prep Team, New Orleans: Carver Basketball

Outstanding Girls’ Prep Team, New Orleans: McGehee Track & Field

Outstanding Collegiate Coach, Louisiana: Kim Mulkey, LSU Women’s Basketball

Greater New Orleans Amateur Athletes of the Month, 2022-23

June, 2022: Alia Armstrong, LSU Track & Field

July, 2022: Gavriella Smith, Penn Tennis

August, 2022: Chris Olivier, New Orleans Boosters

September, 2022: P.J. Martin, De La Salle Football

October, 2022: Michael Pratt, Tulane Football

November, 2022: Tyjae Spears, Tulane Football

December, 2022: D’Wanye’ Winfield, Lutcher Football

January, 2023: Kameron Johnson, Archbishop Shaw Basketball

February, 2023: Spencer Lanosga, Jesuit Wrestling

March, 2023: Ellie Schneider, Country Day Softball

April, 2023: Giancarlo Arencibia, Archbishop Rummel Baseball

May, 2023: Kali Magana, Louise McGehee Track & Field

The Greater New Orleans Sports Awards Committee came together when James Collins spearheaded a group of sports journalists to form a sports awards committee to immortalize local sports history. For 13 years, the committee honored local athletes each month and a variety of annual award winners. In 1970, the Sugar Bowl stepped in to sponsor and revitalize the committee, leading to the creation of the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 1971, honoring 10 legends from the Crescent City in its first induction class. While adding the responsibility of selecting Hall of Famers, the committee has continued to recognize the top amateur athlete in the Greater New Orleans area each month as well as a range of annual awards – the honors enter their 67th year in 2023.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 102 Hall of Fame players, 52 Hall of Fame coaches and 21 Heisman Trophy winners in its 89-year history. The 90th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2024. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards, scholarships and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting nearly $2.4 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

  • < PREV Johnstown claims 2023 AAABA title with Saturday’s 3-2 win over New Orleans
  • NEXT > Video: Tulane Football, Lisa Stockton receive Jimmy Collins Special Award from Allstate Sugar Bowl