Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic to tip off Wednesday

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic

Alario Center to Host 54 Teams Including Multiple Defending State Champions

NEW ORLEANS – The 12th edition of the Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Basketball Classic, an event featuring multiple brackets for both boys’ and girls’ high school basketball players, is scheduled for January 4-7, 2023 at the Alario Center.

In its first 11 years, the tournament has featured teams from Alabama, Arizona, California, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, New York, North Carolina, South Carolina, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, Tennessee and Texas.


Boys National Bracket
Boys State Bracket
Girls Platinum Bracket
Girls Gold Bracket


Tournament Website

This year’s Allstate Sugar Bowl National Prep Classic will feature 54 total teams competing in four brackets (two for boys and two for girls). Eight out-of-state teams are scheduled to match-up against eight New Orleans-area schools in the Boys’ National Bracket. A pair of LHSAA defending state champs: Archbishop Hannan (Division II) and Isidore Newman (Division III) as well as Division I runner-up John Curtis highlight the New Orleans challengers. Family Christian Academy, the LHSAA Division V state champ, will compete in the Boys’ State Bracket.

The 16-team girls’ platinum bracket will include four out-of-state teams as well as five LHSAA defending state champions: Ponchatoula (Class 5A), Ellender (Class 4A), John Curtis (Division I), Lafayette Christian (Division II), and Southern Lab (Division IV), as well as Class 4A runner-up Warren Easton.

Last year’s event featured 40 teams. Eight out-of-state teams competed in the Boys’ National Bracket with Newton of Georgia coming from behind to defeat Beaumont United of Texas, 67-54. In the Girls’ Platinum Bracket championship, Lafayette (La.) High dominated St. Louis Catholic (Lake Charles, La.) in a 62-36 victory.

All four bracket finals games will be streamed live Saturday by

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has a rich history with the sport of basketball. Dating back as far as 1936, the Sugar Bowl has sponsored basketball events in conjunction with the annual football classic. In addition, the Bowl has been a sponsor for multiple local events in the sport. In 2008, the Sugar Bowl Committee partnered with other local organizations to put together a successful bid to host the 2012 NCAA Men’s Basketball Final Four. The Bowl also worked with Tulane and the Greater New Orleans Sports Foundation to host the 2013 NCAA Women’s Basketball Final Four, a role it was scheduled to reprise for the 2020 NCAA Women’s Final Four, which was cancelled by the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 100 Hall of Fame players, 51 Hall of Fame coaches and 20 Heisman Trophy winners in its 88-year history. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards, scholarships and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.2 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

  • < PREV Saints’ first day of 2023 an improvement on 2022
  • NEXT > Marshon Lattimore’s return was every bit the boost the Saints defense needed