Allstate Sugar Bowl and National Football Foundation to honor student-athletes April 12

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Scholarship Winners 2022 with Sugar Bowl President Lloyd Frischhertz and CEO Jeff Hundley
Sugar Bowl President Lloyd Frischhertz (left) and Sugar Bowl CEO Jeff Hundley (right) with the 2022 Allstate Sugar Bowl Scholarship Winners: George Arata, Javeon Talbot, Alex Smith, Ben Knobloch and Caleb Tolbert.

NEW ORLEANS – The Allstate Sugar Bowl Chapter of the National Football Foundation/College Football Hall of Fame will hold its 2023 Awards Luncheon on Wednesday, April 12.

This is a private event. Tickets are required.

The event will honor 30 local high school football players for their achievements in the classroom and on the football field with each of the scholar athletes being introduced individually. Five of the student-athletes being honored will be selected to receive Allstate Sugar Bowl Scholarships (four for $10,000 and one for $20,000). In addition, two major honors, the Contribution to American Football Award and the Distinguished American Award, will be presented to Eddie Bonine, the executive director of the Louisiana High School Athletic Association, and Troy Dannen, the director of athletics at Tulane University, respectively.

The honorees are chosen from a nominated group of talented scholar athletes from the New Orleans area.

2022-23 Allstate Sugar Bowl Scholar-Athletes

Hayden Morel, Archbishop Hannan

Casey Avrard, Archbishop Rummel

Jason A. Brown, Jr., Archbishop Shaw

Nicolas Malek, Brother Martin

Josh Thornton, De La Salle

Charles Atkins, East Jefferson

Justin McCright, Frederick A. Douglass

Mason Williams, Haynes

Garrett Cantrelle, Holy Cross

Cooper Couvillion, Holy Cross

Austin-Jake Guillory, Isidore Newman

Roland Waguespack, Jr., Jesuit

Nicolas Dalferes, John Curtis

Deshaun Batiste, John F. Kennedy

Nicholas Scandurro, Kenner Discovery

Brandon Edinburgh, L.B. Landry

Corey Ruth, Jr., McDonogh 35

Aubrey Posey, Northlake Christian

Luke Schlegel, Northlake Christian

Trenton Vincent, Jr., Patrick F. Taylor

Pierce Williams, Pope John Paul II

Grant Gendusa, St. Martin’s Episcopal

Seth Mandella, St. Martin’s Episcopal

Joshua Yancey, Saint Paul’s

Dylan Buckel, Saint Paul’s

Rasaan Mitchell, Sophie B. Wright

Alejandro Varela, Thomas Jefferson

Derrell Martin, Jr., Walter L. Cohen

Davon Bocage, West Jefferson

Ian Barnes, The Willow School

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 102 Hall of Fame players, 52 Hall of Fame coaches and 21 Heisman Trophy winners in its 89-year history. The 90th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, is scheduled to be played on January 1, 2024. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards, scholarships and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting nearly $2.4 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

  • < PREV Brandon Mitchell earns Southland Pitcher of the Week honors
  • NEXT > Pelicans forward Brandon Ingram named NBA Western Conference Player of Week