Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball tips off next Wednesday

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

The Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament will tip off on Wednesday, November 29, with games at three locations in New Orleans. Opening round games will be played at Brother Martin, Holy Cross. Jesuit and St. Paul’s. The quarterfinals will be Thursday at the same sites while the semifinals and finals (Friday and Saturday) will be played at Jesuit.

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Brackets

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Opening Round, November 29
John Curtis vs. Hahnville, 6 p.m. (at Brother Martin)
East. St. John vs. Brother Martin, 7:30 p.m. (at Brother Martin)
De La Salle vs. Shaw, 6 p.m. (at Holy Cross)
Grace King vs. Holy Cross, 7:30 p.m. (at Holy Cross)
Slidell vs. St. Thomas Aquinas, 6 p.m. (at Jesuit)
St. Martin’s vs. Jesuit, 7:30 p.m. (at Jesuit)
St. Stanislaus vs. St. Paul (at St. Paul)
Rummel vs. Fontainebleau (at St. Paul)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Quarterfinals, November 30
Curtis/Hahnville winner vs. East St. John/Brother Martin winner, 7:30 p.m. (Brother Martin)
De La Salle/Shaw winner vs. Grace King/Holy Cross winner, 7:30 p.m. (Holy Cross)
Slidell/St. Thomas Aquinas winner vs. St. Martin’s/Jesuit winner, 7:30 p.m. (Jesuit)
St. Stanislaus/St. Paul winner vs. Rummel, Fontainebleau winner, 7:30 p.m. (St. Paul)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Semifinals, December 1
7 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. (Jesuit)

Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Boys’ Basketball Tournament Championship, December 2
7 p.m. (Jesuit)

The Allstate Sugar Bowl took on sponsorship of the New Orleans CYO High School Tournament, which is celebrating its 64th year of action this year, in 2008. De La Salle defeated John Curtis, 83-72, to capture the championship of the 2016 Allstate Sugar Bowl CYO Basketball Tournament. It was De La Salle’s first CYO Basketball Tourney title since 1988 when Jay Fazende, who went on to star at Fordham, led the Cavaliers to the title. It is the eighth title all-time for the Cavaliers in the 63-year history of the event.

Troy Nisby led the Cavaliers with 19 points, including 17 in the second half, to go with 12 rebounds, while Derrick Munson added 17 points. Kai Morgan led the Patriots with a game-high 26 points and Dawson Crosby added 23. Chalmette, which was led by tournament MVP Mitchell Robinson, cruised to a 95-58 victory over defending champion St. Paul’s in the third-place game. Nisby, Munson, Crosby and Morgan joined Robinson on the all-tournament team.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 27 national champions, 88 Hall of Fame players, 47 Hall of Fame coaches and 17 Heisman Trophy winners in its 83-year history. The 84th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, which will double as a College Football Playoff Semifinal, will be played on January 1, 2018. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.3 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 90,000 student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.5 billion into the local economy in the last decade. For more information, visit

  • < PREV Cajuns fall short to Wyoming in Cayman Islands Classic, 70-61
  • NEXT > Crescent City Sports to live stream St. Thomas More-De La Salle football playoff game Friday