Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Festival hosted in City Park this Saturday

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

College, High School and Middle School Runners to Compete at City Park

NEW ORLEANS – The 2019 Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Festival will be held this Saturday at New Orleans City Park. The event is hosted by Loyola University. One of over 50 amateur athletic events sponsored on an annual basis by the Allstate Sugar Bowl, the Cross Country Festival will feature men’s and women’s races at the collegiate level, as well as boys’ and girls’ high school varsity and middle school events. Over 400 runners are expected to compete.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Festival races will start and finish on the City Park Cross Country Course located near the intersections of Diagonal Drive and Harrison Avenue.

Schedule of Events
7:45 a.m. – Collegiate Men (3 miles)
8:30 a.m. – Collegiate Women (3 miles)
9:15 a.m. – HS Varsity Boys (3 miles)
9:30 a.m. – College Awards Ceremony
9:45 a.m. – HS Varsity Girls (3 miles)
10:15 a.m. – Middle School Boys and Girls (1.5 mile)
10:45 a.m. – HS/Middle School Awards Ceremony

The meet will feature representatives from 12 colleges, 13 local high school programs and five middle schools.

Colleges represented include Alcorn State (men and women), Belhaven (men), Delta State (women), Dillard (men and women), Loyola (men and women), Millsaps (men and women), Mississippi University (men and women), UNO (men and women), Spring Hill (men and women), Tougaloo (men and women), UNA-Belhaven (women) and Xavier (men and women).

The high schools in action will include Archbishop Chapelle (girls), Archbishop Shaw (boys), Brother Martin (boys), De La Salle (girls), Dominican (girls), John Curtis (girls and boys), Landry-Walker (girls and boys), Morris Jeff (girls and boys), New Orleans Military & Maritime (girls and boys), Salmen (girls and boys), Jewel Sumner (girls and boys), Ursuline (girls) and Vandebilt Catholic (girls and boys).

Middle school teams in action will include Brother Martin (boys and girls), Jewel Sumner (girls and boys), John Curtis (girls and boys), Kenilworth (girls) and St. Pius X (girls and boys).

William Carey College swept the collegiate division of the 2018 Allstate Sugar Bowl Cross Country Festival. At the high school level, Ocean Springs (Miss.) High School was the dominant school, capturing titles at both the boys’ and girls’ level for the varsity races.

In addition to the Cross Country Festival, the Sugar Bowl will sponsor events in baseball, basketball, bowling, football, golf, lacrosse, regatta (sailing), road racing, soccer, swimming, tennis, track and field and volleyball, as well as the full slate of state championships for the Louisiana High School Athletic Association. The organization also sponsors a pair of national awards, the Manning Award for the top collegiate quarterback in the country and the Eddie Robinson Award for the nation’s top collegiate coach. Other events during the year include the Allstate Sugar Bowl New Year’s Eve Parade, the Allstate Sugar Bowl Fan Jam pre-game party and the sponsorship of the local chapter of the National Football Foundation and College Football Hall of Fame.

All of the bowl’s activities for 2019-20 are expected to generate over $200 million in economic impact for the local and regional economy. Last year’s Sugar Bowl activities brought a $280.45 million-dollar boost to New Orleans and Louisiana. Over the past decade, the Bowl has infused over $2.5 billion into the region.

The Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1.6 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors over 100,000 student-athletes each year.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 93 Hall of Fame players, 49 Hall of Fame coaches and 18 Heisman Trophy winners in its 85-year history. The 86th Allstate Sugar Bowl Football Classic, featuring top teams from the Big 12 and the SEC, will be played on January 1, 2020. For more information, visit

  • < PREV Pelicans promote Finch, add Bzdelik and McMillan to coaching staff
  • NEXT > St. Augustine vs. Landry-Walker football game to air live Saturday on 106.1 FM NASH ICON