Allstate Sugar Bowl announces latest Manning Award Futures

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Manning Futures

NEW ORLEANS – The Allstate Sugar Bowl has announced this week’s Manning Award Futures – four local high school quarterbacks who turned in outstanding performances on the football field this past weekend. Fans now have the opportunity to go to Twitter (@SugarBowlNola) to vote for their favorite performance of the week.


The Manning Award, which recognizes the top collegiate quarterback in the nation on an annual basis, was created by the Allstate Sugar Bowl in 2004 to honor the college football accomplishments of Archie, Peyton and Eli Manning.

Manning Award Futures – High School QBs of the Week, 9/27/22:

Cooper DesRoches, Mandeville (15-of-22, 211 total yards, 3 TDs)
DesRoches, who went over 1,000 passing yards for the season, helped the Skippers jump to a 28-0 halftime advantage as they picked up their first win of the year with a 41-20 District 6-5A victory over Northshore.

Luke Guidry, Slidell (8-of-14, 121 yards, 2 TDs)
Guidry connected on a 57-yard pass to set up the first touchdown for the Tigers, then completed a 31-yard TD strike followed by a successful two-point conversion pass, before wrapping up the scoring with an 11-yard TD in a 21-7 win over St. Paul’s.

Edward McKinnis, Sophie B. Wright (16-of-25, 387 total yards, 4 TDs)
McKinnis also ran for 152 yards, including opening the scoring with a 52-yard run, and connected on three passing touchdowns as the Warriors defeated Higgins 36-8 at Pan American Stadium.

AJ Samuel, Edna Karr (15-of-22, 271 total yards, 3 TDs)
Samuel connected on back-to-back TD passes to make the score 28-7, then ran for another score to make it 35-7 as the Cougars rolled to a 49-7 victory over previously undefeated St. Augustine in their first District 9-5A contest.

The Allstate Sugar Bowl has established itself as one of the premier college football bowl games, having hosted 28 national champions, 100 Hall of Fame players, 51 Hall of Fame coaches and 20 Heisman Trophy winners in its 88-year history. The 89th annual Sugar Bowl Classic is scheduled to be played on Saturday, December 31, 2022. In addition to football, the Sugar Bowl Committee annually invests over $1 million into the community through the hosting and sponsorship of sporting events, awards, scholarships and clinics. Through these efforts, the organization supports and honors thousands of student-athletes each year, while injecting over $2.2 billion into the local economy in the last decade.

  • < PREV The Starting 11 -- Unpredictable NFL rolls into October, league marks international milestone in Week 4
  • NEXT > LSU Football Game Notes: Kelly's Tigers travel to face Auburn in first true road game of season