Albert Lewis, Reggie Wayne among finalists for Pro Football Hall of Fame’s 2023 class

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Albert Lewis and Reggie Wayne

Louisiana natives Albert Lewis and Reggie Wayne are among the 15 modern-era finalists for the Pro Football Hall of Fame’s Class of 2023 announced Wednesday evening.

Wayne, the John Ehret product who starred in the NFL at wide receiver with the Indianapolis Colts for 13 seasons, is a finalist for a fourth straight year. He went to six Pro Bowls and earned a Super Bowl ring with fellow Louisiana legend Peyton Manning with a Colts victory in Super Bowl XLI.

Lewis, the Mansfield native who starred at Grambling who was one of the league’s best cornerbacks with the Kansas City Chiefs and Oakland Raiders, is a first-time Canton finalist. He was a two-time All-Pro who was one of the NFL’s best cover corners and special teamers over 16 seasons.

Both men are members of numerous Halls of Fame including the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame. Wayne entered the Greater New Orleans Sports Hall of Fame in 2021.

Former New Orleans Saints offensive guard Jahri Evans, a member of the Louisiana Sports Hall of Fame and Saints Hall of Fame, was one of 13 semifinalists who did not receive enough votes to become finalists this year.


Jared Allen, Defensive End – 2004-07 Kansas City Chiefs, 2008-2013 Minnesota Vikings, 2014-15 Chicago Bears, 2015 Carolina Panthers
Willie Anderson, Offensive Tackle – 1996-2007 Cincinnati Bengals, 2008 Baltimore Raven
Ronde Barber, Cornerback/Safety – 1997-2012 Tampa Bay Buccaneers
Dwight Freeney, Defensive End/Outside Linebacker – 2002-2012 Indianapolis Colts, 2013-14 San Diego Chargers, 2015 Arizona Cardinals, 2016 Atlanta Falcons, 2017 Seattle Seahawks, 2017 Detroit Lions
Devin Hester, Punt Returner/Kick Returner/Wide Receiver – 2006-2013 Chicago Bears, 2014-15 Atlanta Falcons, 2016 Baltimore Ravens
Torry Holt, Wide Receiver – 1999-2008 St. Louis Rams, 2009 Jacksonville Jaguars
Andre Johnson, Wide Receiver – 2003-2014 Houston Texans, 2015 Indianapolis Colts, 2016 Tennessee Titans
Albert Lewis, Cornerback – 1983-1993 Kansas City Chiefs, 1994-98 Los Angeles/Oakland Raiders
Darrelle Revis, Cornerback – 2007-2012 New York Jets, 2013 Tampa Bay Buccaneers, 2014 New England Patriots, 2015-16 New York Jets, 2017 Kansas City Chiefs
Joe Thomas, Offensive Tackle – 2007-2017 Cleveland Browns
Zach Thomas, Linebacker – 1996-2007 Miami Dolphins, 2008 Dallas Cowboys
DeMarcus Ware, Linebacker/Defensive End – 2005-2013 Dallas Cowboys, 2014-16 Denver Broncos
Reggie Wayne, Wide Receiver – 2001-2014 Indianapolis Colts
Patrick Willis, Linebacker – 2007-2014 San Francisco 49ers
Darren Woodson, Safety – 1992-2003 Dallas Cowboys

  • < PREV LSU's DeMario Tolan enters transfer portal as linebacker depth becomes a concern
  • NEXT > Seven Saints out Wednesday including three offensive line starters