Acadiana, St. Thomas More, Vandebilt, Loyola earn girls top-seeds for state soccer playoffs

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Brackets: LHSAA girls soccer playoffs

The seeds are out for the LHSAA girls soccer playoffs. Unlike in most recent years, fans from the New Orleans area will have to make the drive to Lafayette to watch the state championships, which will be at Cajun Field this year Feb. 21-23.

Acadiana is the top-seed in Class 5A. The Wreckin’ Rams (18-1-4) get a bye and will play the winner of 16th-seed Dutchtown and 17th-seed Sulphur in the regional round.

Two-time defending state champion Mount Carmel (25-2-1) is the second-seed. The Cubs get a bye and will face the winner of 15th-seed Baton Rouge and 18th-seed Alexandria in the regional round. Mount Carmel has played in the title game in each of the last three seasons and also won state in 2012.

Acadiana and Mount Carmel split a pair of matches during the regular season with the Wreckin’ Rams winning 2-0 on Nov. 25 and the Cubs winning 1-0 on Dec. 30, handing Acadiana its only loss of the season.

St. Scholastica (17-1-3) earned the third-seed and will take on the winner of 14th-seed Captain Shreve and 19th-seeded Denham Springs in the regional round. The Doves won Division I state championships in 2010 and in 2014. SSA lost only to Mount Carmel 1-0 on Jan. 15.

St. Amant is the fourth-seed and the Gators (12-3-2) will face the winner of 13th-seeded Airline and 20th-seed Thibodaux in the regional round.

Mandeville (20-5) is the eighth seed and receives a first-round bye.

The 10th-seed Northshore (11-4-5) will host 23rd-seeded East Ascension in the opening round. Dominican (15-8-3) is the 12th-seed and will host 21st-seeded Comeaux in the first round.

St. Thomas More (14-6-3) is the top-seed in Division II and earned a first-round bye. The Cougars will take on the winner of 16th-seed Ouachita Parish and 17th-seeded Natchitoches Central in the regional round. STM lost in the title game a year ago after winning the championship in 2016.

West Ouachita (17-7-2) is the second-seed and will face the winner of 15th-seed Sam Houston and 18th-seeded South Terrebonne in the regional round.

Caddo Magnet (14-4-5) is the third-seed and gets a bye before taking on the winner of 14th-seed Archbishop Chapelle (13-3-1) and 19th-seed Beau Chene in the regional round.

Defending state champion Lakeshore (12-9) is the fourth-seed and the Titans get a bye before taking on the winner of 13th-seed Central and 20th-seeded Minden in the regional round. Lakeshore has reached the finals two consecutive seasons.

Fifth-seed Destrehan (13-6-1) has a first-round bye.

Ben Franklin (19-3) is the eighth-seed and has a first-round bye. The Falcons won three consecutive state titles from 2013-15.

The 23rd-seed Belle Chasse (13-4-1) travels to 10th-seed Terrebonne while 24th-seed East Jefferson (6-5-2) makes the long trip to Benton.

In Division III, two-time defending state champion Vandebilt Catholic (23-4-2) is the No. 1 seed and gets a bye. The Terriers will face the winner of 16th-seed Lutcher and 17th-seed Morgan City in the regional round.

St. Louis Catholic (19-4-5) is the second-seed and gets a first-round bye before facing the winner of 15th-seed West Feliciana and 18th-seeded Holy Savior Menard in the regional round.

Unbeaten University Lab (16-0-3) is the third-seed and the Cubs get a bye before taking on the winner of 14th-seeded Franklin Parish and 19th-seeded Opelousas in the regional round. University won a state championship in 2015.

Fourth-seed Teurlings Catholic (13-5-3) gets a bye before facing the winner of 20th-seed Pearl River (10-6-2) at 13th-seed St. Michael in the regional round. The Rebels won state championships in 2011 and 2012.

Seventh-seed Archbishop Hannan (12-5-3) gets a first-round bye.

The 11th-seed Haynes (10-6-2) will entertain 22nd-seeded Lusher (11-7-2) in the opening round. The two sides are quite familiar with each other. The Yellow Jackets just defeated the Lions 3-0 on Monday.

Carbrini (4-7-4), seeded 23rd, opens the playoffs at 10th-seed Cecilia.

In Division IV, Loyola Prep (22-3-1) is the top-seed and the Flyers get a bye before facing the winner of 16th-seed Lafayette Christian and 17th-seeded Calvary Baptist in the regional round. Loyola Prep reached the state championship match in Division III a year ago.

Ascension Episcopal (12-7-1) earned the second-seed and will have a bye before squaring off against the winner of 15th-seed Opelousas Catholic and 18th-seed Delta Charter in the regional round.

Episcopal of Acadiana (10-2-5) is the third-seed and has a bye before facing the winner of 14th-seed Runnels and 19th-seeded Christ Episcopal in the regional round.

Defending state champion Newman (14-3-1) is the fourth-seed and receives a bye. The Greenies will take on the winner of 13th-seed St. Charles Catholic (10-10) and 20th-seeded Evangel Christian in the regional round.

Pope John Paul II (12-3) is the eighth-seed and the Jaguars get a bye before taking on the winner of ninth-seed Academy of The Sacred Heart of New Orleans (7-8) and 24th-seeded North Caddo in the regional round. The Cardinals played in the Division III title game last season and won four straight state titles from 2010-13 while Pope John Paul II won a state championship in 2014.

McGehee (14-6) is the 10th-seed and the Hawks will entertain 23rd-seed Westminster Christian in the first-round.

Country Day (8-11-1) is the 12th-seed and the Cajuns will host 21st-seed Northlake Christian (8-10) in the opening round. The Cajuns defeated the Wolverines 2-0 on Jan. 22 in Metairie.

  • < PREV Video: Riser, Lions prepare for 2018 baseball season
  • NEXT > Poor shooting dooms Cowboys in 67-57 loss to Sam Houston

Ken Trahan


Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Born and raised in the New Orleans area, CCSE CEO Ken Trahan has been a sports media fixture in the community for nearly four decades. Ken started with Bill Hammack and Don Jones in 2008. In 2011, the site became On August 1, 2017, Ken helped launch Having accumulated national awards/recognition (National Sports Media Association, National Football…

Read more >