2021 All-Southland Conference volleyball teams announced

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

Ladyjacks grab league-leading four superlative honors and seven all-conference spots

FRISCO, Texas – Stephen F. Austin’s Kassidy Wilbur is the 2021 Southland Conference Softball Player of the Year, the league announced Monday, along with its all-conference teams and additional superlative honors. Southland yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition.

Wilbur headlined the list of Southland honorees, claiming Pitcher of the Year honors along with her Player of the Year award. The junior was electric in the circle for the Ladyjacks, leading the Southland with a 0.86 ERA and ranking second in the nation with 13 shutouts ahead of postseason play. Wilbur set a program record with 29 wins, a mark that ranks first among all NCAA Division I pitchers. She has doled out 253 strikeouts so far this season to rank sixth in the nation and has 21 complete-game performances on the year. In addition to her Player of the Year and Pitcher of the Year awards, Wilbur was named a first team all-conference selection.

The Ladyjacks cleaned up in the superlative awards as Shaylon Govan was also crowned the Southland Hitter of the Year in addition to being named a first-team selection at first base. She closed out the regular season with a league-leading 51 RBI and 15 home runs. Govan racked up an .802 slugging percentage to go along with a .397 batting average. Of her 52 hits on the season, 23 have gone for extra bases, resulting in 105 total bases on the year. The sophomore has also tabbed a .515 on-base percentage and 36 runs through 44 appearances for Stephen F. Austin.

SFA head coach Nicole Dickson was named the Southland Coach of the Year after leading her squad to a 34-10 overall record and a 25-2 mark in conference play. Dickson’s team secured the Southland regular-season championship, its second in program history. The ‘Jacks currently rank among the nation’s top-25 in four categories, including 10th in shutouts (15), 11th in fielding percentage (.979), 21st in ERA (1.97) and 25th in winning percentage (.780).

Central Arkansas’ Jenna Wildeman claimed Southland Freshman of the Year after pushing the Bears to a 21-6 conference record and the No. 2 seed at the Southland Conference Tournament. Wildeman leads the league with 67 hits on the season, averages 1.06 stolen bases per game and stands first in the country with 56 stolen bases. The outfielder was named a first team all-conference selection for the Bears.

Jenna Edwards shined bright in the circle for McNeese throughout the 2021 campaign, putting in 91 innings of work to be named the Southland Newcomer of the Year. After transferring to McNeese from Valparaiso, Edwards recorded a 7-2 record on 28 appearances and 13 starts. She fanned 67 batters and secured four saves to push the Cowgirls to an 18-8 conference record and the No. 3 seed at the Southland Tournament.

Stephen F. Austin led the way on the all-conference rosters with seven selections, followed by McNeese’s six honorees. Central Arkansas and Southeastern Louisiana each accounted for five spots apiece, while Houston Baptist secured four selections. Northwestern State and Sam Houston each stamped a trio of all-conference honorees, followed by Abilene Christian, Nicholls and Texas A&M-Corpus Christi who each registered one selection.

The 2021 Southland Conference Softball Tournament gets underway at 11 a.m. Tuesday, May 11, at North Oak Park in Hammond, La. No. 6 seed Houston Baptist will take on No. 7 seed Sam Houston in game one, followed by tournament host and No. 5 seed Southeastern Louisiana against No. 8 Abilene Christian in game two. Each game at the tournament will be broadcast exclusively on ESPN+.

2021 All-Southland Conference Softball Teams

Individual Awards

Player of the Year: Kassidy Wilbur, Stephen F. Austin

Hitter of the Year: Shaylon Govan, Stephen F. Austin

Pitcher of the Year: Kassidy Wilbur, Stephen F. Austin

Freshman of the Year: Jenna Wildeman, Central Arkansas

Newcomer of the Year: Jenna Edwards, McNeese

Coach of the Year: Nicole Dickson, Stephen F. Austin

First Team      
Pos. Name School Class Hometown
1B Shaylon Govan Stephen F. Austin So. Katy, Texas
2B Bryana Novegil2 Stephen F. Austin Sr. Houston, Texas
3B Haylee Brinlee McNeese So. Rosepine, La.
SS Cori McCrary2 McNeese Sr. McCarley, Miss.
C Heidi Jaquez Houston Baptist Sr. Wharton, Texas
UT E.C. Delafield2 Northwestern State Jr. Stonewall, La.
DP Mackenzie Bennett Stephen F. Austin Jr. Santee, Calif.
OF Jenna Wildeman Central Arkansas R-Fr. Bentonville, Ark.
OF Megan McDonald2 Sam Houston Sr. Georgetown, Texas
OF Aeriyl Mass Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Lake Charles, La.
P Kayla Beaver Central Arkansas R-Fr. Jackson, Tenn.
P Kassidy Wilbur2 Stephen F. Austin Jr. Bridge City, Texas
Second Team      
1B Kaylyn Shepherd2 Central Arkansas R-Sr. Mechanicsville, Va.
2B Mary Kate Brown Central Arkansas R-Fr. Atkins, Ark.
3B Lindsey Rizzo Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Watson, La.
SS Camryn Middlebrook Stephen F. Austin So. Round Rock, Texas
C Hannah Scheaffer Sam Houston Fr. Cypress, Texas
UT Gaby Garcia Stephen F. Austin So. Southlake, Texas
DP Kaylee Lopez2 McNeese So. Indian Bayou, La.
OF Donelle Johnson Abilene Christian R-Sr. McKinney, Texas
OF Jil Poullard McNeese Fr. Moss Bluff, La.
OF Audrey Greely Southeastern Louisiana Fr. Geismar, La.
P Jordan Johnson Central Arkansas R-So. Paola, Kan.
P Whitney Tate McNeese Fr. Columbia, La.
Third Team      
1B Caitlyn Brockway Houston Baptist So. Tomball, Texas
2B Cayla Jones3 Northwestern State Jr. Missouri City, Texas
3B Alex Hedspeth Stephen F. Austin Jr. Lockhart, Texas
SS Ashlyn Reavis Nicholls Fr. Paris, Texas
C Chloe Gomez McNeese Fr. Spring, Texas
UT Jasie Roberts Houston Baptist R-Fr. Pasadena, Texas
DP Anna Rodenberg Southeastern Louisiana Sr. Thibodaux, La.
OF Kaitlyn St. Clair Northwestern State Sr. Cypress, Texas
OF Sheridan Fisher Sam Houston Jr. Cypress, Texas
OF Pal Egan A&M-Corpus Christi So. Bakersfield, Calif.
P Lyndie Swanson Houston Baptist R-Fr. Katy, Texas
P Heather Zumo Southeastern Louisiana Jr. Baton Rouge, La.

2 Two-time all-conference selection

3 Three-time all-conference selection

  • < PREV McNeese defensive end Isaiah Chambers named 1st team All-American by Stats Perform
  • NEXT > Southeastern announces 2021 Schedule