2018 Class 4A All-State baseball and softball squads announced

  • icon
  • icon
  • icon
  • icon

By Warren Arceneaux
Written for LSWA

An ace pitcher and slugging infielder who led their teams to state championships headline the Louisiana Sports Writers Association’s Class 4A All-State baseball and softball teams.

Peyton Lejeune of Teurlings Catholic was voted the Most Valuable Player on the baseball squad after compiling an 11-3 record. Annemarie Peavy, who hit a blistering .521 with 10 home runs to help Parkview Baptist win the Division II softball championship, was selected as the MVP for the softball squad.

The LSWA’s baseball Coach of the Year is J. D. Stephens of Benton, who led the ninth-seeded Tigers on a surprise run to the Class 4A state championship. The Tigers knocked off top seed Breaux Bridge, No. 5 seed West Ouachita and No. 3 seed DeRidder en route to the title.

DeRidder’s Todd Schulz was picked as the Coach of the Year after leading his team to the first softball title in the program’s history. The Dragons beat the state’s two top-seeded teams, West Ouachita and Morgan City, to claim the crown.

Joining Lejeune on the baseball team are fellow pitchers Luke Honeycutt of West Ouachita (9-2), Blake Ougel of South Lafourche (11-2) and Cole Mouton of Breaux Bridge (9-0). The catcher is Julian Leon of Breaux Bridge (.366).

Infielders are Peyton parker of West Ouachita (.357), Kanin Dodge of Teurlings Catholic (.342), M.D. Talley
of Neville (.417) and Christian Gonzalez of Breaux Bridge (.464).

Outfielders are Wes Toups of E.D. White (.475), Cameron LeJeune of DeRidder (.392) and Connor Joffrion of Parkview Baptist (.361).

Utility players are Chipper Menard of DeRidder (11-2), Rensuke Higashihama of Riverdale (7-2), Mason Pesson of St. Thomas More (9-1) and Hayden Judice of Teurlings Catholic.

Pitchers on the softball team are Kennedy Hebert of Morgan City (25-5), Shelby Carlson of West Ouachita (12-5), Anna Bordelon of Parkview Baptist (13-1) and Lauren Parson of DeRidder (17-7). Catcher is Kelsey Mobley of Grant (.404).

Infielders are Peavy, Madison Prejean of St. Thomas More (.409), Mackenzi David of Teurlings Catholic (.500) and Jana Boudreaux of Cecilia (.458).

Outfielders are Ashlyn Roach of West Ouachita (.528), Audrey Greely of Parkview Baptist (.579) and Kailey LaFrere of DeRidder (.368).

Utility Paitlyn Desormeaux of STM (.402), Alexis Wadsworth of Pearl River (.567), Hailey Ebey of North DeSoto (.408), Allie Vincent of Morgan City (.505) and Katylon Ward of Grant (18-14).

2018 Class 4A All-State Charts
Pos Player School Class Stats
P Luke Honeycutt West Ouachita Sr. 9-2
P Blake Ougel South Lafourche Sr. 11-2
P Cole Mouton Breaux Bridge Jr. 9-0
P Peyton Lejeune Teurlings Jr. 11-3
C Julian Leon Breaux Bridge Sr. .366
IF Peyton Parker West Ouachita Jr. .357
IF Kanin Dodge Teurlings Jr. .342
IF M.D. Talley Neville Jr. .417
IF Christian Gonzalez Breaux Bridge Jr. .464
OF Wes Toups E.D. White Jr. .475
OF Cameron LeJeune DeRidder Jr. .392
OF Connor Joffrion Parkview Baptist Sr. .361
UTL Chipper Menard DeRidder So. 11-2
UTL Rensuke Higashihama Riverdale Sr. 7-2
UTL Andrew McPherson Benton Sr. ???
UTL Mason Pesson St. Thomas More Sr. 9-1
UTL Hayden Judice Teurlings Sr. 10-0


Honorable mention: Larry Barabino, Warren Easton; Collin DeSandro, E.D. White Catholic; Austin Cantrelle, South Lafourche; Davis Arceneaux, South Lafourche; Kaleb Blanchard, Assumption; Chandler Breaux, Assumption; John Theriot, Vandebilt Catholic; Cameron Folse, E.D. White Catholic; Dylan Talbot, Vandebilt Catholic; Jack Blanchard, South Lafourche; Morrquis Charles, Morgan City; Logan Tingle, Morgan City; William LaRocca, Morgan City; Landon Credeur, Cecilia; Connor Robin, Cecilia ; Nick Talamo, Salmen; Peyton Callendar, Parkview Baptist; Thomas Wilhite, West Ouachita; Luke Cagle, Neville; Dylan Coburn, Tioga; Josh Humphries, Buckeye; Johnathan Harmon, Leesville; Dakota Courtney, DeRidder; Devin DeSandro, E.D. White; Tanner Dalfrey, Breaux Bridge; Darian Charles, Westgate; Drew McDaniel, St. Thomas More; Cody Morgan, Cecilia; Garrett Hable, Benton; Carson Curtis, North DeSoto; Hunter Gaston, North DeSoto; Sebastian Jenkins, Westgate; Dain Turner, Teurlings Catholic; Dustin Phillippe, Parkview Baptist; Cole Horton, Benton; Will Cryer, St. Thomas More; Damarcus James, Rayne; Alex Savoy, Rayne; Cullan Hartzog, Parkview Baptist; Issac Williams, Tioga; Tristan Doyle, Leesville; Darian Richard, Rayne; Cayden Meeks, West Ouachita; Alex Bland, Lutcher; Blake McGehee, Tioga; Wallace Davis, Cecilia; Andre Beaudoin, Salmen; Michael Haynes, Neville; Kolby Bourgeois, Lutcher; Preston Matlock, Northwood; Drew Hudson, Northwood; Gerardo Velazquez, North DeSoto; Hunter Wilkes, Minden.

Pos Player School Class Stats
P Kennedy Hebert Morgan City Sr. 25-5
P Shelby Carlson West Ouachita Jr. 12-5
P Anna Bordelon Parkview Baptist Sr. 13-1
P Lauren Parson DeRidder Sr. 17-7
P Myka Lester Westlake Jr. 18-8
C Kelsey Mobley Grant Sr. .404
IF Madison Prejean St. Thomas More Fr. .409
IF Mackenzi David Teurlings Jr. .500
IF Jana Boudreaux Cecilia Jr. .458
IF Annemarie Peavy Parkview Baptist Sr. .521
OF Ashlyn Roach West Ouachita So. .538
OF Audrey Greely Parkview Baptist Jr. .579
OF Kailey LeFrere DeRidder Sr. .368
UTL Paitlyn Desormeaux St. Thomas More Jr. .402
UTL Alexis Wadsworth Pearl River Fr. .567
UTL Haily Ebey North DeSoto Sr. .408
UTL Allie Vincent Morgan City Sr. .505
UTL Katylon Ward Grant Sr. 18-14


Honorable mention: Haylie Crappell, Morgan City; Gracie Verrett, Morgan City; Abbey Aysen, Assumption; Scout Blades, E.D. White Catholic; Maddie Gros, E.D. White Catholic; Mattie Boudreaux, Assumption; Alexis Clifton, Assumption; Emily John, Assumption; Brookelyn Sweeney, Belle Chasse.; Alara Taylor, Lakeshore; Riley DeLaval, St. Scholastica; Lauren Bloomer, Neville; Lacey Bonvillain, Beau Chene; Shelby Blaine, Northwood; Maddie Dauzart, Buckeye; Amanda Shelby, Neville; Taylor Cobb, DeRidder; Maicey Spillers, West Ouachita; Lauren Kreyenbuhl, Leesville; Bella Houck, Leesville; Zakayla Collins, Leesville; Keyana Poteat, Leesville; Layni Smith, Buckeye; Cami Courville, Cecilia; Madison Watson, Parkview Baptist; Brooklyn Green, DeRidder; Kaylea Godron, Grant; Bailey Pentz, Buckeye; Molli Perry, St. Thomas More; Jordie Wilhite, West Ouachita; Aubrey Joslin, DeRidder; Sydney Webster, North DeSoto; Alexis Dennis, Buckeye; Ashley Hunter, Benton.

  • < PREV Grizzlies batter Baby Cakes to open series, 9-2
  • NEXT > The most memorable special teams coverage standouts in NFL history